Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

At the Gates of Loyang» Forums » General

Subject: 2 player rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Can someone explain this to me?

Does it mean that the person going first in the card distribution round can draw a card instead of laying one down? Is the first person the only one who can do this or can you keep doing it throughout that round?

Also, what is it in the rulebook that says if you are the only one left, you can draw a card to put down. Can you only do this once?

Thx
jonpfl
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The main rule is the same no matter the number of players. And that is you do 1 of 2 options. Either A) place a card from your hand into the pool, or B) select the two cards to add to your board, one from the pool and one from your hand, with any remaining in your hand into the pool.

In a 2 player game, you must still choose one of those two options every turn. Before doing so, you also have one more choice to make. You can either flip the top card from the deck and place it into the pool, or not.

You may flip the top card of the deck every time it comes back to your turn. Basically, it is a way to get more cards into the pool to select from which simulates the extra cards that would be available from a third or fourth player.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Every turn in the card distribution phase, if you like, you can flip up [not draw] a card from the stack and toss it into the pile of face-up cards before taking your normal action [playing cards or taking cards].

This is basically just to simulate the cards that would normally be added to the pile by a third or fourth player.

Yes, you can only do this extra card flip one time if you are the last player to draft, since it has to be done at the beginning of your turn and you only get one more "turn" once you are the last player left with cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great minds.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
The main rule is the same no matter the number of players. And that is you do 1 of 2 options. Either A) place a card from your hand into the pool, or B) select the two cards to add to your board, one from the pool and one from your hand, with any remaining in your hand into the pool.

In a 2 player game, you must still choose one of those two options every turn. Before doing so, you also have one more choice to make. You can either flip the top card from the deck and place it into the pool, or not.

You may flip the top card of the deck every time it comes back to your turn. Basically, it is a way to get more cards into the pool to select from which simulates the extra cards that would be available from a third or fourth player.


Why would you not do this every time?

I assume if you know there is a good card out there you want, you wouldn't do it since it would give your opponent more options, right?

Thx
jonpfl
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonpfl wrote:
DoomTurtle wrote:
The main rule is the same no matter the number of players. And that is you do 1 of 2 options. Either A) place a card from your hand into the pool, or B) select the two cards to add to your board, one from the pool and one from your hand, with any remaining in your hand into the pool.

In a 2 player game, you must still choose one of those two options every turn. Before doing so, you also have one more choice to make. You can either flip the top card from the deck and place it into the pool, or not.

You may flip the top card of the deck every time it comes back to your turn. Basically, it is a way to get more cards into the pool to select from which simulates the extra cards that would be available from a third or fourth player.


Why would you not do this every time?

jonpfl

The cards you want are in your hand and you don't want a card your opponent might want to flip. Otherwise, yea, it's better to flip one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Giving yourself more choices also gives the other player more choices. Is that going to help them more than it helps you?

By default, we usually flip. It's more fun for both of us to be doing better than both of us doing worse.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Liles
United States
Valparaiso
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am still confused. In the card phase, it appears that each player receives 4 cards and places one in the courtyard. As a two player game, this appeared to be both players placing one card in the courtyard. Then, due to only having two cards in the courtyard, each of us essentially took the card back into our hand.

This can't be right. What am I misunderstanding?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Saari
Finland
flag msg tools
http://www.lautapeliopas.fi/ - the best Finnish board game resource!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Donald, in the two-player game, the first player places a card in the courtyard. Then the other player can either 1) draw that card and take a card from hand (and then put the other cards in the courtyard) OR 2) play a card in the courtyard. If she chooses 2), then the other player faces the same decision: 1) choose a card OR 2) play a card in the courtyard.

In the end, there can be plenty of cards in the courtyard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.