Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Conquest of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: CoE Classic - Can generals alone claim territory? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russ Temple
United States
Centerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played this game for the first time last night. A friend and I played 2 player classic - so there was a lot of empty, unclaimed territories between us.

We started out by using our generals moving 2 spaces across unclaimed lands. Essentially, we'd move into the first territory, drop a marker, and then move to the next, claiming 10 - 20 points per general.

Is this legal? Or do you also need a combat unit to accompany your general to make this a proper move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a word, no.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Miller
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Moshe is correct. Page 4 of the classic rules states:

"CAESAR: Your Caesar is your most important piece!
Each player begins the game with one Caesar, and
owns only this one Caesar throughout the game.
Caesars have 2 movement points per turn. A Caesar
can move by itself or be used to move Combat Units,
but a Caesar requires land Combat Units to conquer a
territory, whether that territory is occupied or not.
"

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Temple
United States
Centerville
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!! Appreciate the quick response. And I'm a little embarassed I missed that in the rule book. blush

Edit: so it sounds like a General and a calvary unit can effecitvely accomplish the same thing we were attempting in the OP, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
It's been quite some while for myself, yet, don't you have to OCCUPY at the end of a Turn in order to 'claim' some AREA?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Miller
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Sorry, my bad. You said Generals, not Caesars. However there is a statement under the heading Generals that says: Your Generals work in all ways like your Caesar: they have 2 movement points, can be used to move Combat Units, and so forth.

So I assume that means Generals cannot capture a territory by themselves.

-Phil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.