Subject: How often new sets will be released? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hristo Filipov
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am new to Heroclix, my interest is in the LOTR setting of the game. Based on your experience with previous Heroclix releases can you tell me how often new sets for the same setting (universe) get released? Is it every 3-4 months or every 8-10 months or so? This is very important for me to know before deciding whether I will get into this game or not. If it is too frequently I won't be able to catch up financially and I won't start at all. I would like to have every figure of the sets, but prefer 1 or 2 releases a year. I don't want this game to fill up all my gaming budget. I regularly buy a lot of board games and I don't want this to change (because honestly they are the best bang for your buck).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Sachau
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

I'll guess it will be at most 3 sets per year. Currently there are 3-4 Marvel/DC sets combined per year.

But I also think that this game will die after 2 or 3 sets like the Sabretooth version. Maybe the new Hobbit movie will bring some new players in.

LoTR does not have enough interesting characters, to support a lot of sets. Marvel/DC created literally 1000s of characters of the span of 60 years, so there are still characters missing in heroclix.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Goodhand
United States
GSP Exit #20 (Seaville)
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sadly, I have to agree with Obermeier, in that I believe this version of HeroClix will be short lived with only 1 or 2 additional releases at best; and only if those models are already loaded into the production cycle.