Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reaction Air units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can reaction air units, or carries for that matter, move into the battle hex if not already present? My opponent is having a hard time grasping this concept and as I am explaining it to him I started to have a doubt. I wanted to make sure I have this right. I believe they can.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Carriers can, but rarely do. Only reason is really to deny the ships in hex mod an amphibious assault is hoping for. Otherwise staying out of the battlehex is greatly advantageous.

Air units can not enter a battle hex, but obviously participate in a battle from a different hex. This is a big consideration particularly in the Pacific, where declaring battle-hexes in EC operations can cut off areas. E.g. declaring Truk a battle-hex, makes the north south shuffle of air units much more difficult.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zhodanicommando wrote:
Can reaction air units, or carries for that matter, move into the battle hex if not already present? My opponent is having a hard time grasping this concept and as I am explaining it to him I started to have a doubt. I wanted to make sure I have this right. I believe they can.



Rule 7.31...Air units never enter the battle hex, unless they started the offensive in the battle hex.

So, no...air or carrier units that react to a declared battle hex participate from either the closest airbase or a water hex within range of the battle hex.

Mark
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoops, boy did I bone my poor opponent. I read this rule, but hadn't put two and two together with reaction air. They are treated the same. Thanks for pointing that out.

Cheers
Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judd Vance
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
zhodanicommando wrote:
Can reaction air units, or carries for that matter, move into the battle hex if not already present? My opponent is having a hard time grasping this concept and as I am explaining it to him I started to have a doubt. I wanted to make sure I have this right. I believe they can.



Rule 7.31...Air units never enter the battle hex, unless they started the offensive in the battle hex.

So, no...air or carrier units that react to a declared battle hex participate from either the closest airbase or a water hex within range of the battle hex.

Mark


Are you having a sense a deja vu?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
airjudden wrote:
Are you having a sense a deja vu?


Everyone meet my opponent, who I humbly eat crow in front of after a lengthy explanation of how the rules pertain to Kevin and not what Mark actually wroteblush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judd Vance
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, the egg is on my face.

I thought my 2 carrier units had 12 air and 12 naval strength for 24 each. Otherwise, I wouldn't have so foolishly thrown them into the hornet's nest.

Then, I thought your air units were going to move to that western Borneo air strip and then move the battle hex (forgetting that you have to fly to friendly air strips) to take on my not-24 strength carriers.

So you have kept me on the path of righteous rules far more than leading me astray.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henrik Reschreiter
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:

So, no...air or carrier units that react to a declared battle hex participate from either the closest airbase or a water hex within range of the battle hex.

Mark


Mark, do I understand this correctly that a CV cannot enter a battle-hex either, e.g. escorting a ground unit in presence of opposing naval forces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hreschreiter wrote:
MarkHerman wrote:

So, no...air or carrier units that react to a declared battle hex participate from either the closest airbase or a water hex within range of the battle hex.

Mark


Mark, do I understand this correctly that a CV cannot enter a battle-hex either, e.g. escorting a ground unit in presence of opposing naval forces?


No Henrik, you know the rules, an air unit cannot enter a battle hex. Carrier units are naval units so they can enter the battle hex if they have to, but it is usually not a good idea as it makes them more vulnerable to enemy surface units. However, you can do it.

Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.