Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Castle Ravenloft Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Villain activation, when EXACTLY? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ciaran McCann
United Kingdom
Belfast
Nothern Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

OH NO...
JUST FOUND A THREAD ALL ABOUT THIS
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/6335707#6335707
SHOULD I DELETE THIS?

I did search first for 'villain activate' but found nothing... as I spelled () villian wrong like that shake


The villain phase;
1. Possible encounter card.
2. Villains activate if in play.
3. Monsters/Traps activate.

I noticed it says on ALL villain cards;
'Name' activates at the START of each villain phase.

So before possible encounter cards!!!

So villains activate.
Then villain phase;
1. Possible encounter card
2. Villains activates
3. Monsters/Traps activate

So villains activate TWICE, once at the START of the villain phase then again at step two of the villain phase.

I believe this is wrong and they actually activate only at step two of the villain phase and NOT at the START of the villain phase.

This came up because of adventure 2 questions (ironically with no villains).
It says in special adventure rules;
"For the rest of the adventure, each player draws an Encounter Card at the start of his or her Villain Phase"
and this has been confirmed as being in addition to a possible encounter card in step one of the villain phase so it appears that this happens BEFORE the phase has started.

I then looked at adventure one and noted that it says;
"...Strad activates at the start of each players Villain Phase"
so that would have him activating twice as above.
Then noticed what it says on the villain cards!

Meh!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, welcome to the confusing rules of the game. Odd, since it really is a simple game, to have such confusing rules written...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Pelton
United Kingdom
Hucknall
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They way I play this (and upto reading this it has not occoured to me)

Is in the villain phase

If it is a black arrow or explorered a tile (or regardless in the case of adventure 2) draw an encounter card.
Activate any Villains in play.
Activate any Monsters in play.

this works when the rules are not quite clear


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vayda
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
https://sites.google.com/site/cnjxwing/home
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I think they meant the "start" to make sure they go before the monsters.

It does feel like the encounter card part of the phase is thematically part of the exploration phase and gets forgotten that it is part of the villain phase.

But to support: villains only go once per villain phase after the encounter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ciaran McCann
United Kingdom
Belfast
Nothern Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh fek me angry
I'm not typing all that again...
I typed a BIG reply and hit backspace instead of return and its all gone!!!!


Suffice to say ... thanks peeps blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't tell you how upset it makes me that browsers have made the BACKSPACE key the hotkey for the Back button. If that's not the most retarded key for *any* kind of action. More often than not, it will be confused and while I'm typing, suddenly take me to the previous page, and I've lost everything I've typed.

So, I feel your pain, and you're welcome

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.