Mike Chipman
United States
Murray
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm relatively new to the game, and one of many questions I have is this:

With a hero like Battlemage Jaes, why would you ever use his melee ability? Isn't a hero with 3 Magic Power die just better than this guy?

I'm sure I'm missing something.

Thanks for your input.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty much. The Heroes with one die in each are deemed the worst to pick, since they have no real "focus". However, sometimes their special ability overcomes this spreading of focus. In the case of Jaes, the ability to use Armor and Runes is pretty good and one of the reasons most people play him. Also, it does give you the option to use that Melee weapon, though in my games that option is rarely used.

-shnar
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Most of the heroes with a 2/1 split are still playable. You just focus on the trait that has 2 dice and laugh nonchalantly at the idea of ever doing anything with the 1-die trait. There are some who claim the odd die can come in useful sometimes, but all the examples of such I've seen cited are so obviously constructed that it's hard to imagine they'd come up very often, if ever, during actual play. (In all the games I've played, I've never seen a hero player wishing he had thought to prep something for his off-traits.)

The few heroes who have a 1/1/1 split are truly broken (and not in the good way.) In theory these heroes should have ridiculously awesome hero abilities to make up for their overall weak combat position, but none of them do. I can't see anything else to chalk that up to other than poor game design, as much as I genuinely do enjoy this game.

In short, no you are not missing anything. Whatever hero you pick, you want to focus on the trait that has the most dice.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide