Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
K J
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
Forgive if this has been discussed, I have kept a good eye on here an did not notice a blunt/direct answer to this and sometimes I can be daft.

In regards to a card (like RAGE) when it says "Attack or Block 2" if you choose to attack is it for Attack 1 or Attack 2?

Also, if you upgrade a card, again lets use RAGE, using a Red crystal/mana does that mean it is now FIRE ATTACK 4 (and can be used as a magic attack) or is it just a basic non-magic Attack 4. This would be a rule that could effect any card where you upgrade it with mana/crystal that it then becomes imbued with Magic and thus is a magic Attack or magic Block.

Thank you for your help, love this site/board/game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bonocrow wrote:
Forgive if this has been discussed, I have kept a good eye on here an did not notice a blunt/direct answer to this and sometimes I can be daft.

In regards to a card (like RAGE) when it says "Attack or Block 2" if you choose to attack is it for Attack 1 or Attack 2?

Attack 2

Quote:
Also, if you upgrade a card, again lets use RAGE, using a Red crystal/mana does that mean it is now FIRE ATTACK 4 (and can be used as a magic attack) or is it just a basic non-magic Attack 4. This would be a rule that could effect any card where you upgrade it with mana/crystal that it then becomes imbued with Magic and thus is a magic Attack or magic Block.

It's exactly what it says on the card.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Rupp
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A.) Attack is 2 as well. It would say attack 1 or block 2 otherwise.

B.) It's just normal attack 4. It would say Fire Attack 4 if it were a fire attack. Being an advanced effect does not make it a fire attack.

//EDIT: I am slow but I can confirm James is correct!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K J
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
Jason and James I appreciate it. I have only been playing this solo thus far and seeing how (the ONLY flaw) the rules are a bit spread out and sometimes lack enough examples I have only myself to rely on for rule learning.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flávio Henrique
Brazil
Brasília
DF
flag msg tools
Regarding question "a".

Any official word about this?

The problem is: some cards explicitly says otherwise, like Instinct (Move 2, Influence 2, Attack 2 or Block 2).

So, why Instinct isn't "Move, Influence, Attack or Block 2" ?

I understand that any card could be played as 'attack 1', so it would not make sense to write it, but seems to be no standard in those texts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Honore
France
Berzé la ville
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't think of a situation where you'd like to play attack 1 and not attack 2 from the same single card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yoshimit wrote:
So, why Instinct isn't "Move, Influence, Attack or Block 2" ?
Because it's a newer card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.