Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dungeon Run» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacked by "team" monster rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donald Dennis
United States
Pawleys Island
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some monsters require two or more players to initiate combat.

What happens when one of those appears in a space with a single person?
Is there a normal battle?
Does the monster get an unopposed attack on the character they have ambushed?
It any fight prohibited because there aren't two PCs?


I suppose the same answer applies to staying in the same spot as a two player required monster all turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Yost
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is that it's an unopposed attack. Rulebook says:

Quote:
If the hero is unable to attack the
monster due to special rules, the monster gets to make
a free attack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shaun
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yostage wrote:
My understanding is that it's an unopposed attack. Rulebook says:

Quote:
If the hero is unable to attack the
monster due to special rules, the monster gets to make
a free attack.


That makes sense. It fits thematically too. You just get smacked in the face by this huge creature, then you can try to run away
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Rouse
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just hope it doesn't appear in a solitaire game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colby Dauch
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yostage wrote:
My understanding is that it's an unopposed attack. Rulebook says:

Quote:
If the hero is unable to attack the
monster due to special rules, the monster gets to make
a free attack.


Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Goodridge
United States
Windsor Locks
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Currently at 1:2 ratio, getting better every week
badge
I don't want it, I don't need it, but I can't stop myself. - Stabbing Westward
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a case like this, like the War Altar presumably, what if the other hero on the tile does not choose to assist you? Is your battle action wasted?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
screamingtruth wrote:
Yostage wrote:
My understanding is that it's an unopposed attack. Rulebook says:

Quote:
If the hero is unable to attack the
monster due to special rules, the monster gets to make
a free attack.


Correct.


Are you sure?

Pg. 13, Solitare Dungeon Run, step 2:
"Ignore the portions of monster or hero abilities that refer to other players".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Rouse
United States
Thibodaux
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The original post is not referencing a solitaire game. He is just asking what happens if you have are alone on a tile with this monster in a multiplayer game.

Cardboardjunkie wrote:
In a case like this, like the War Altar presumably, what if the other hero on the tile does not choose to assist you? Is your battle action wasted?

I was wondering this, too. I'm not sure if you can secure the promise of an assist in advance with any game-backed guarantee. If not, the options seem to be either that you'd get your action back, or you'd just get free attack. The latter of which seems maybe too harsh. We played it that you could ask someone in advance if they're going to assist you -- in this case only -- which works for me.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Pedersen
Denmark
Copenhagen N.
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blush
Sorry, read this post after reading a solo-session report. Must have mixed up the posts...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donald Dennis
United States
Pawleys Island
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dbc- wrote:
blush
Sorry, read this post after reading a solo-session report. Must have mixed up the posts...

No peril.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.