Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Banner of Fear question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan M.
Canada
Regina
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Banner of Fear says "Assign this to a Unit you control. During the Block phase of combat, you may spend this Unit to cancel one attack. If you do, Fame +1."

What does "cancel one attack" mean? One enemy does no damage? Or...what?

~Ryan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah. Just think of it as skipping the attack phase for one enemy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Shrewsbury
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but I have a question about the stronger effect on the "banner of fear" artifact.

When you destroy the card, it says to skip the combat and assign damage phase. Does that mean that in a city nobody gets to attack you? That sounds too good to be true?

Matt
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
freudianslip27 wrote:
Sorry to resurrect this thread, but I have a question about the stronger effect on the "banner of fear" artifact.

When you destroy the card, it says to skip the combat and assign damage phase. Does that mean that in a city nobody gets to attack you? That sounds too good to be true?

Matt


That is indeed the case. Artifacts are awesome. But note you can't have the banner assigned to a unit if you want to use the stronger effect. You have to play it from your hand to get that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Shrewsbury
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, that is awesome and also, oh man it is assigned to a unit right now. Looks like I have some planning to do!

Thanks,

Matt
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Nielsen
Denmark
Ølstykke
Ølstykke
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had Gardsmen with banner of fear togeather with a Herbalist.


During an attack on a city (3 mobs) I did the following.

1. spend Gardsmen to cancel attack from first mob.
2. Spend Herbalist to ready Gardsmen.
3. Spend Gardsmen to cancel attack from second mob.

Is that correctly played?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
markus savola
Finland
flag msg tools
foppwin wrote:
I had Gardsmen with banner of fear togeather with a Herbalist.


During an attack on a city (3 mobs) I did the following.

1. spend Gardsmen to cancel attack from first mob.
2. Spend Herbalist to ready Gardsmen.
3. Spend Gardsmen to cancel attack from second mob.

Is that correctly played?


No, readying a unit is a healing effect and cannot be played in combat.

Also, try search: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/813642/herbalist-make-1-unit...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.