Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ride to Ruin question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Roberts
United States
Southlake
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Ride to Ruin card reads, "Action: Discard a Rohan ally to choose a location. PLace 3 progress tokens on that location."

Can you discard an ally from your hand to activate this action?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, from play only.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kobold Curry Chef wrote:
Nope, from play only.


Is that in a FAQ somewhere? It reads "Discard" not "Discard from play."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jurgen Koller
Australia
Cherrybrook
NSW
flag msg tools
Great Underground Empire
badge
Explorer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it's stated in the rules on page 25:

In Play and Out of Play
"In play" refers to cards that have been played or put
into play (in a player’s play area), to cards that are
waiting in the staging area, to the currently revealed
quest card, and to encounter cards that are engaged
with that player. "Out of play" states are" in a player's
hand," "in a deck," or "in a discard pile. Card effects
do not interact with cards in an out of play state unless
the effect specifically refers to that state.


The last statement I bolded is the key to answering your question.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rustylantern wrote:
Card effects
do not interact with cards in an out of play state unless
the effect specifically refers to that state.


The last statement I bolded is the key to answering your question.


Awesome. Thanks for the info. I never noticed that. I just did a search over at lotrlcg.com and that's one of only two cards to just say "discard" instead of "discard from (somewhere)." Interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Roberts
United States
Southlake
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rustylantern wrote:
No, it's stated in the rules on page 25:

In Play and Out of Play
"In play" refers to cards that have been played or put
into play (in a player’s play area), to cards that are
waiting in the staging area, to the currently revealed
quest card, and to encounter cards that are engaged
with that player. "Out of play" states are" in a player's
hand," "in a deck," or "in a discard pile. Card effects
do not interact with cards in an out of play state unless
the effect specifically refers to that state.


The last statement I bolded is the key to answering your question.

Thanks! That is how I originally understood it, which is why I never use it. It seems a waste. Being able to play it by discarding an ally out of a hand would make it useful.

Does anyone use this card? Am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bart Rachemoss
United States
Silver City
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Science is the belief in the ignorance of experts.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a deck from a excellent player that uses RtR:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/7955146
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Friederike
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scottandkimr wrote:

Does anyone use this card? Am I missing something?

I have created a Rohan deck and I use this card. It is especially useful when combined with the Snowbourn Scout (because his main use is his response anyway). You basically pay two resources for placing 4 progress tokens on locations - which can be VERY helpful.

But also other combinations can be useful. In particular I remember that once I used it on Eomund, which gave me three progress tokens plus readying all Rohan characters and enabled me to defeat an enemy I otherwise could not have defeated due to lack of attackers.

Furthermore, as many allies leave play in a Rohan deck, you can include cards, that make you profit from allies leaving play like Valiant Sacrifice or even Prince Imrahil or Horn of Gondor.
(As the last two are Gondor, I don't include them in my Rohan deck, but my partner has them in his, so he profits.)

So I would say that there are definitely decks to which Ride to Ruin is a valuable addition.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Roberts
United States
Southlake
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good thoughts, Rike, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave D
msg tools
Rike wrote:
[q="scottandkimr"]
Furthermore, as many allies leave play in a Rohan deck, you can include cards, that make you profit from allies leaving play like Valiant Sacrifice or even Prince Imrahil or Horn of Gondor.
(As the last two are Gondor, I don't include them in my Rohan deck, but my partner has them in his, so he profits.)


Interesting. I've been assuming that Rohan decks kind of rest on Imrahil, because there doesn't appear to be much synergy between the cards. Their theme, is coming into and out of play, but there's not many "card combos" that seem to boost that, barring Horn of Gondor/Imrahil etc. Cards like Riddermark's Finest seem like perfectly decent card, but I always figured that specifically building a deck centered around a lot of Rohan cards, meant playing off their tendency to leave play, to some greater extent than the effect of the card itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.