Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ship Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J. Chris Miller
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How many actions do NPCs get when activated? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
The Herbie Nichols Project - Dr. Cyclops' Dream
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NPCs don't have actions. They just move in the indicated direction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NPC ships move one space in the direction indicated on the event card, unless a hunt priority directs them somewhere else. Either way, they move only one space.


The only other actions they take are scouting actions, but those only happen when a player begins their turn in the same sea space or they enter the sea space with the NPC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
NPC ships move one space in the direction indicated on the event card, unless a hunt priority directs them somewhere else. Either way, they move only one space.


And they only move if the event card directs them to move, right? So, if I start the turn in sea-zone next to hostile NPC, he will not automatically come after me unless the event card is a "move NPC" card that specifies him? (also new to the game and was wondering)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jedimusic wrote:
Quote:
NPC ships move one space in the direction indicated on the event card, unless a hunt priority directs them somewhere else. Either way, they move only one space.


And they only move if the event card directs them to move, right? So, if I start the turn in sea-zone next to hostile NPC, he will not automatically come after me unless the event card is a "move NPC" card that specifies him? (also new to the game and was wondering)
Correct. If the event card shows (for example) Spanish, English, and the big Pirate for movement, only those three ships will move. The rest stay where they are, even if they have a target in a nearby sea space.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guatemala
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Exception: An NPC ship shown in the Event card won't move IF it's already in a Sea Zone where there's a Player with higher hunting priority. True?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
inefable urlik wrote:
Exception: An NPC ship shown in the Event card won't move IF it's already in a Sea Zone where there's a Player with higher hunting priority. True?
Yes. Hunt priority overrides any other movement the NPC would make; if it's already where it wants to be it'll stay there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.