Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Core Worlds» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chancellor Augustus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Board games addict
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This guy has us a little confused, when you deploy him are you able to immediately start using his power? How does his ability work exactly, could you use all three energy tokens and play three infantry at once? Finally, does this cost any actions to use his ability, or is it free?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He gives you three energy tokens which can only be spent to deploy infantry. You still spend the actions just as normal. The energy cost can come from him though. And, yes, you can use him immediately. This sort of timing happens with many other cards in the game as well. For example, there's a ship (Sentinel?) that lets you draw a card when it deploys. So, you could deploy it, draw the card, and then decide to deploy that card as well. And there's a vehicle (Laser Tank?) which lets you have a discount on the deploy cost for every infantry you have out, so you could deploy infantry first and then deploy that Laser Tank.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Deploying is sequential, so yes, you could play him first, immediately gain his three energy tokens, then on the same turn, start deploying Infantry, using his tokens to pay for them.

His ability costs no actions to use, but you would still have to pay one action per infantry deployed.

Cameron
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, Quinnox.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Michael and Cameron! ninja

Chancellor Augustus gives you three bonus Energy that can be used to deploy Infantry Units. You can use this Energy at any time, even during the same turn that you deploy him. Using this Energy doesn't cost any extra Actions.

For example, you could play 3 Galactic Grunts (which would cost 3 Actions as normal), using the energy stored on Chancellor Augustus instead of the Energy available on your player board.

Thanks!

Andrew

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukasz Biernat
Poland
Dabrowa Gornicza
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
And there's a vehicle (Laser Tank?) which lets you have a discount on the deploy cost for every infantry you have out, so you could deploy infantry first and then deploy that Laser Tank.

Plasma Skimmer


Another question about Augustus.
When deploying more expensive units (2 or more cost), is he able to pay only a part of the cost? For example, I deploy Genetic Supersoldier (cost 4), Augustus pays 2 and I pay 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I understand it, the three energy tokens on Augustus can be used in any way you see fit. I don't see why you can't choose to use just one, two or all of his tokens in any combination you wish.

Cameron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.