Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dawn of the Zeds (First edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defiant Villagers and Brains! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
GeekInsight
United States
Whittier
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This has come up in a couple of my plays. The game says that a space is Zeds controlled if, at the end of the turn, a Zeds unit or a chaos marker is present.

The rules also say that Villagers become Refugees when their space is Zeds controlled.

So, I've had the Brains card played where the Zeds will beat up the civilians guarding the Villagers, which causes the civilians to retreat. Because there is now a player unit next to the Zeds, the Brains card says the Zeds move again and attack the civilians.

This means that the Zeds swept through town in their rampage, but because they didn't stay, they don't control the space. Which means the Villagers don't become refugees. Is that correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HERMANN LUTTMANN
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, the Village becomes Zed-controlled (and a Chaos marker is placed there) as soon as they defeat the defending Civilians and the Villagers are alone in the space with the Zeds. They then become Refugees and retreat and a Chaos marker is placed in the village (i.e, as soon as the Zeds enter or pass through it). I agree that the rules could be tightened up there - it shouldn't really be determined just at the end of the Zed Phase, but rather in the case of a multi-space move, at the conclusion of each space of movement or combat.

Thanks for pointing that out!
Hermann
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GeekInsight
United States
Whittier
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification.

So, in that event, the Zeds defeat the civillians, the civillians retreat, the Villagers immediately flip to refugees and also retreat, the Zeds then move and attack the civillians again - possibly forcing another retreat and eating the Regufees as well.

Is that correct? Yikes. Early brain cards are challenging.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MyParadox wrote:
Early brain cards are challenging.


They are - note that once the Zeds encounter Refugees when caught unprotected, that stops their move (the feeding frenzy begins). That's a really neat (and thematic) game mechanic.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HERMANN LUTTMANN
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct and Steve's point is also correct - eating Refugees is not "winning a combat" so the "Brains!" chain stops after their meal.
Thanks!
Hermann
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Emch
United States
Maumee
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HORST324 wrote:
That's correct and Steve's point is also correct - eating Refugees is not "winning a combat" so the "Brains!" chain stops after their meal.
Thanks!
Hermann


But they won the hand to hand and made the civs/hero retreat. Then they devour the refugees. They are still adjacent to a friendly unit. Doesn't hand to hand continue?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HERMANN LUTTMANN
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Right, Ron, but the Zeds "feasting" on the Refugees is not technically a hand-to-hand combat. No roll is made. The zombies are considered in this case to have so much "food" that they stop their pursuit and become frenzied munching what's on hand. It is also a nod to balancing this situation toward the player so the Zeds don't get an easy "string" due to the fleeing refugees. Enjoy the game! Hermann
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.