Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Reds! The Russian Civil War 1918-1921» Forums » Rules

Subject: All-Sea Hexsides rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is my summary of the impact of All-Sea Hexsides:

ZOCs do not extend across

Cossack units must remain within 8 hexes of their home krug hex. (The path may not be traced across all-sea hexsides.)

The Makhno unit (16.0) must remain within two hexes of the Makhno district. The two hex distance may not trace over all-sea hexsides.

Determine which player’s units are closest to the Makhno partisan unit in number of hexes, ignore ZOCs but do not count across all-sea hexsides.

This is pretty specific. What it does not say is that units cannot move across All-Sea Hexsides. Supply cannot be traced across All-Sea Hexsides.

I assume that both of those are true. How do people play this?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As a follow up to this.

When retreating the retreated unit must be at least 2 hexes away from the enemy units/its original hex. Can this two hex limit be traced over an all-sea hexside?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Supply cannot be traced across All-Sea Hexsides.


Maybe it doesn't have to trace at all:

12.6 Ports and Coastal Hexes as Supply Lines
A supply line may trace from one port to another port on a
friendly-controlled sea as part of a river segment. Units on a
coastal hex of a friendly controlled sea are considered automatically
in supply, even if there is no friendly controlled supply
source on that sea.

By the same token, a unit doesn't have to move across all-sea hexsides because it can make:

10.5 Sea Strategic Movement
To conduct sea strategic movement, a unit moves from one
friendly-controlled port to another friendly-controlled port
within one sea. Units may not move from one sea to another.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawrence Hung wrote:
Quote:
Supply cannot be traced across All-Sea Hexsides.


Maybe it doesn't have to trace at all:

If you are adjacent to a supplied river/rail hex, you're in supply. (12.4.) But what if you're adjacent to such a supplied river/rail hex across an all-sea hexside?

I think the sea hexside is intended to block all 3 cases mentioned in this thread (retreat, ordinary movement, and supply), but agree that it seems unstated in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, I agree Russ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.