Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Presence Points rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Brown
United States
Macon
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Points are awarded for the highest level achieved.

Control > Dominance > Presence
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Percival
Canada
Ottawa
ON
flag msg tools
badge
A strange game. The only winning move is not to play. How about a nice game of chess?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Because he has Domination, so he scores for Domination. He does, technically, have Presence as well, but he can only score for one of those conditions.

For example, if the USSR had Control, he would not get Victory Points for Presence and Domination as well, he would only get the Victory Points for Control (plus of course the added points for each battlegrounds).

Clear?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Papandreas
Pitcairn Islands
msg tools
mbmbmb
But in case that

USSR has control, so he gains points (9) for that , and US has presence (let's say 3) how many total points are awarded to the USSR player?
9 in total or 9 - 3 (influence of US player) ???

PS and of course after this calculation we also add the battleground VP for the USSR player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IN TOTAL, you move the score marker six points. In theory, you first move it nine points for USSR control, then you move it back three points for US presence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Foster
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
It's good to be in the habit of doing the whole calculation for both sides and moving the vp marker one time. The 20vp instant victory rule only applies once the full scoring card has been resolved.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The third bullet point under 10.1.2 clarifies that the VP marker is only moved after the net number is computed. Keeps someone from claiming a premature win if the VP marker is moved first based on their gross points.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StocktonDave wrote:
The third bullet point under 10.1.2 clarifies that the VP marker is only moved after the net number is computed. Keeps someone from claiming a premature win if the VP marker is moved first based on their gross points.


Yes, that's why I said, "in theory." In other words, "You can think of it this way if it's easier for you."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.