Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

American Rails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonuses connecting bonus cities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Gabelman
United States
University Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just so I'm clear:

There are 3 bonus cities (A,B,C).
If I connect two of them, I get $10 bonus (A-B).
If I connect 3 of them, I get $30 bonus (A-B, and A-C).

Do I have any incentive to connect A-B, A-C and B-C?

I suppose I could get the bonus $30.00 by connecting A-B and B-C.

Please confirm!

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Griebsch
Germany
Bochum
North Rhine-Westphalia
flag msg tools
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
badge
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

you get an additional 10$ bonus if you connect two of the special cities.

If you connect a-b and a-c you have two connections made so you get an additional 20$ bonus.

If you connect a-b and b-c you have three connections made so you get an additional 30$ bonus.

If you connect a-b, a-c and then b-c you have three connections made so you get an additional 30$ bonus.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Gabelman
United States
University Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
d0gb0t wrote:
Hi,

you get an additional 10$ bonus if you connect two of the special cities.

Scenario 1: If you connect a-b and a-c you have two connections made so you get an additional 20$ bonus.

Scenario 2: If you connect a-b and b-c you have three connections made so you get an additional 30$ bonus.

Scenario 3: If you connect a-b, a-c and then b-c you have three connections made so you get an additional 30$ bonus.


I don't understand your comment above - it seems wrong to me.

This is how I'm looking at the connections:

A-B and A-C would look like this (re-written: B-A, A-C)

B---(1)-----A----(2)----C I see two connections.

Note: this is the same as your scenario 2 above, which you say is 3 connections and worth a $30 bonus:

A---(1)-----B---(2)-----C Either way, the connections are the same.

I see the only way to get two connections as follows:

A-----(1)---B---(2)-----C-----(3)-----A

What am I missing???

Thanks!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Harrison
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.gamesonthebrain.com
badge
www.gamesonthebrain.com
Avatar

It sounds like you think it is a lot more complicated than it really is.

The order of the connections does not matter.

A-B/A-C is treated the same as A-B/B-C.

If one railroad connects 2 special cities, you get a $10 bonus.

If one railroad connects 3 special cities, you get an *additional* $20 bonus, for a total bonus of $30.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Gabelman
United States
University Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GamesOnTheBrain wrote:

It sounds like you think it is a lot more complicated than it really is.

The order of the connections does not matter.

A-B/A-C is treated the same as A-B/B-C.

If one railroad connects 2 special cities, you get a $10 bonus.

If one railroad connects 3 special cities, you get an *additional* $20 bonus, for a total bonus of $30.


Ahhhhh!

I was thinking it was a $10.00 bonus per connection, not per city!

Okay - that makes much more sense!

I'm WAY over thinking! Too much time looking over loan documents at work.

Cheers!

-Joel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ingo Griebsch
Germany
Bochum
North Rhine-Westphalia
flag msg tools
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
badge
Coding Architect | Husband and father | Boardgame addict | Loves Clutch as well as Tricky
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are right, Joel! My example was wrong... modest

And thanks, Tim!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Branchburg
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elmsley4 wrote:

Ahhhhh!

I was thinking it was a $10.00 bonus per connection, not per city!

Okay - that makes much more sense!

I'm WAY over thinking! Too much time looking over loan documents at work.

Cheers!

-Joel


It is per connection, not per city. Connecting two cities is only worth $10. But if you've made two connections, then you've necessarily made three connections.

If you connect New York to Chicago and Chicago to Atlanta, then you've connected New York to Atlanta, right? It doesn't matter how direct the connection is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Gabelman
United States
University Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

I wasn't aware there were only 3 bonus cities.

If there were say... 4 bonus cities, you could connect differently.

After my first play through, I see my wrong assumption.

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.