Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Thunderstone: Doomgate Legion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Border Guard + Discard a card (self?) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
After using the Border Guard to draw a card, may I satisfy the discard criteria by discarding the very same Border Guard (that I used to draw the card)? Normally the rule is that we cannot discard/destroy cards if a dungeon effect has been used on them, but cards are allowed to break this rule when destroying themselves (e.g. the Town Guard can first draw cards, then destroy itself to draw more cards). So just wondering if this extends to a card discarding itself as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can't. You can only discard an unplayed card, and the border guard has, by definition, been played already.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Ting
Malaysia
Sibu
Sarawak
flag msg tools
Answer's right here:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/699677/border-guard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
charlesting wrote:


Thanks, but that thread seems to be dealing primarily with protecting a hero from being destroyed. I'm not seeing my specific question answered.

Asmor wrote:
No, you can't. You can only discard an unplayed card, and the border guard has, by definition, been played already.


Are you getting that from a passage in the rules? The same applies to destroying a card, yet this rule is superseded by the rule that allows a card to destroy itself (see this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/741153/90-of-ts-is-understan...). So I'm just wondering if there is a similar allowance for a card to discard itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Looks like Ryan answered this in the affirmative here, that a card with a discard effect may discard itself:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/8117541#8117541
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.