Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Casualty Reduction in CC? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wasp Factoryman
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

Just a few questions that arose last night mid-battle:

When a unit suffers casualty reduction due to CC DR equal to To Kill number, is the unit also Broken as well?

Can a tank fire it's MG's as First Fire during the enemies MPh, then later during the same MPh fire it's MA at a different moving target. OR, is a First Fire counter placed on the tank after the MG's have fired and the MA cannot fire later (unless Intensive Fire) even though it did not fire earlier...er...if that makes any sense?

On emplaced Guns, is it better tactically to hose them down with machine gun fire in an attempt to kill the Crew rather than attempt OVR with tanks or blast at them with tank MA's...which is what I attempted and wrecked a lot of my tanks accordingly with zero success!

Your input and advice is, as always, much appreciated

Best regards (and Merry Christmas, must remember it's xmas and get my head out of the damn ASL RB occasionally!)

Jonathan

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Jones
United Kingdom
Urmston
Manchester
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Jonathan,

Dealing with your questions in turn:

1) No, a unit which suffers CR in CC is not broken as well
2) Yes, a tank can fire its MGs at one target and then fire its MA later in the MPh or even in the DFPh if you wish.
3) It depends. An emplaced gun crew will get the +2 TEM either way. A good way way to take out the crew is to appraoch from outside their CA and then advance into CC. This way the +2 TEM doesn't matter and as long as you are a full squad, you should get a nice 2:1 in CC. This also stops the crew self rallying back which can happen if you break them with fire.

Hope this helps.

Merry Christmas.

Paul
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As a rule of thumb, attack infantry with vehicles, vehicles with guns and guns with infantry.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Monson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
As a rule of thumb, attack infantry with vehicles, vehicles with guns and guns with infantry.


ASL - as easy as Rock-Paper-Scissors! whistle Who would have known?! surprise
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
plem45 wrote:
marticabre wrote:
As a rule of thumb, attack infantry with vehicles, vehicles with guns and guns with infantry.


ASL - as easy as Rock-Paper-Scissors! whistle Who would have known?! surprise


Yep, obviously ASL is a Rock-Paper-Scissors kind of game with some chrome for adding vehicle types and such. The rule book has been artificially inflated to make it more expensive. whistle
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.