Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Empires: Builder Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Smuggler rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Rogers
United States
APO
US Armed Forces - Europe
flag msg tools
When using the Smuggler, can the exchange of the Trade goods take place regardless of the other player's wishes?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee A.
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
We certainly thought so.
However something interesting happens sometimes:
An example -
I the smuggler change a fish that I grabbed from the trade good box for a sugar that my opponent gained from having 3 guys in the Carribean.
(Normally, we would keep that sugar 'upside down' to indicate that it is 'take awayable' by other players if ever they win the Carribean)...Now, I find myself with the Carribean sugar, but without even having put a foot in Cuba. Is this sugar now safe from any takeover?
Thoughts anyone?

Some precisions about the Age 2 Plague would be appreciated as well...
- all players over 3 lose a colonist?
- or the player that buys the Plague tile chooses an opponent and all the territories over 3 guys of THAT color lose a coloniste?

And finally,
On the subject of what constitues a 'colonist', for various tiles:
- we decided that a colonist = any guy or merchant, but not a monk, builder, or soldier (since these pieces on land can affect subsequent tiles: example, reformation)

A fantastic renewing of this game. Screws all the math, and opens many new winning possiblities. My only worry is that it also opens up the possibility of huge run-away victories..

mrleemtl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i would think "colonist" means any of them/all of them; any figure in the game (as in orig game)...same way any merch/miss/sold/capt on the board can simply be "swapped out" and replaced by a colonist if you run out from your supply...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee A.
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
Although why would you want to swap out a soldier? They can be important later. Captain, merchant sure. Butthe Monks now also have potential added later value with Reformation.
For example, if someone plays the plague age 3 against you - it says 'colonists' (not 'and specialists' like certain cards/actions). We took that to mean: all 'colonists' but not builders, soldiers or monks...
We figured that if you needed to swap out a monk for a new buy, for instance, you could, but at your own risk/loss if ever you got Reformation and no longer had a monk where you would have wanted one...

Debatable I'm sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think you need permission, that wouldn't make it very useful and the wording doesn't indicate it. (Although I'm finding these rules not as carefully worded as the base game's.)

mrleemtl wrote:
We certainly thought so.
However something interesting happens sometimes:
An example -
I the smuggler change a fish that I grabbed from the trade good box for a sugar that my opponent gained from having 3 guys in the Carribean.
(Normally, we would keep that sugar 'upside down' to indicate that it is 'take awayable' by other players if ever they win the Carribean)...Now, I find myself with the Carribean sugar, but without even having put a foot in Cuba. Is this sugar now safe from any takeover?
Thoughts anyone?


What rule is this? When you get the trade good for having 3 Colonists in a region, you don't lose it if you lose majority in the region....

mrleemtl wrote:
Some precisions about the Age 2 Plague would be appreciated as well...
- all players over 3 lose a colonist?
- or the player that buys the Plague tile chooses an opponent and all the territories over 3 guys of THAT color lose a coloniste?


Plagues have been discussed in this thread. The Age 2 Plague ended up better worded as "Remove one random unit from each region that contains at least 3 units of any single color."

mrleemtl wrote:
And finally,
On the subject of what constitues a 'colonist', for various tiles:
- we decided that a colonist = any guy or merchant, but not a monk, builder, or soldier (since these pieces on land can affect subsequent tiles: example, reformation)


I agree with that interpretation. The original rules were pretty clear about saying "colonist and specialist" when they were talking about both.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
in the orig rules they explained that colonist could refer to any figure on the board...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee A.
Canada
montreal
quebec
flag msg tools
mb
mrleemtl wrote:
We certainly thought so.
However something interesting happens sometimes:
An example -
I the smuggler change a fish that I grabbed from the trade good box for a sugar that my opponent gained from having 3 guys in the Carribean.
(Normally, we would keep that sugar 'upside down' to indicate that it is 'take awayable' by other players if ever they win the Carribean)...Now, I find myself with the Carribean sugar, but without even having put a foot in Cuba. Is this sugar now safe from any takeover?
Thoughts anyone?


What rule is this? When you get the trade good for having 3 Colonists in a region, you don't lose it if you lose majority in the region....

Hm. You are perhaps right on this. We read it that if the original person to have taken, say, the sugar with 3 colonists only hung on to the sugar as long as he maintained 3 colonists - since the sugar after all is an 'income' that continues each turn. If someone knocked him below 3 he would either put the sugar back on the board, if no one else had 3, or surrender this income trade good to the person who knocked him below 3 (assuming this person had at least 3 - soldiers for example). We keep track of which trade good was actually attained from the board by placing it upside down in our sets. Note that if the original player still has 3 colonists, even if he is not majoritaire, he nevertheless maintained control of the trade good.
It makes for VERY interesting play, but does create some questions when using the expansion.
Thanks for your diligence. I believe we will continue as we have been, and find a way to work the new tiles in. Try it, you may like it...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.