Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ancient Battles Deluxe» Forums » Rules

Subject: minimum number of game turns? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Rom
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am using rules version 1.24
From page 2 of the rulebook:
Quote:
[3.0] SEQUENCE OF PLAY
Each scenario involves the play of several
Game Turns, a minimum of six and as
many as ten.

From page 9:
Quote:
[12.0] END OF TURN ACTIVITIES
At the end of each Game Turn, certain
‘housekeeping’ functions must take place.
Procedure
1. End Game Check / Advance the Game
Turn Marker: Advance the Game Turn
marker to the next box on the Turn
Track unless the current Box includes an
End of Game Check value.
If it does, the Initiative Player rolls one
unmodified die D6. If the result is less
than or equal to (≤) that value, the game
is over and the winner is determined
according to the Victory Conditions
(14.0). On any other result, advance the
Game Turn marker to the next box and
play the next Game Turn.

The first box on Turn Track, which have the End of Game Check value, is 5th turn box.
Does it mean that game could end in the end of fifth game turn if player rolls 1 on D6 during End of Game Check?
Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Skellett
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I agree that the game can end at the end of the 5th turn (on a roll of 1).

I hadn't noticed the mention of six to ten turns but the mechanics of the End Game Check definitely mean that it can end after five.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Nagel
United States
Burlington
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes,

The game can end on Turn 5. I'll have that corrected. Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Emrich
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're correct! The reference in the Sequence of Play should say "five" instead of "six."

I'll make that correction.

Thanks!

Alan Emrich
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Artl
United States
New Berlin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alex notes that he is using Version 1.24 of the rules. The rules that I have from when I purchased the game in early 2010 are Version 1.23. Seems reasonable that he might have a newer version of the rules than me, yet when I go online to the VPG website, the rules you find on the ABD page are still Version 1.22! What gives with all of these rule versions and where can you find the actual latest rules? Thanks!

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.