Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » Rules

Subject: monster marker and buying souvernir rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John blog
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

A)where does monster marker goes when I use it to buy souvenir?
1) back to monster cup for recycling?
or
2)discard?


B)can I spend more than 1 trophy to purchase more than 1 clue tokens?


thanks,
JB
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judy Krauss
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
but I'm not the only one
badge
My hands are small, I know, but they're not yours, they are my own
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thisaliensean wrote:

A)where does monster marker goes when I use it to buy souvenir?
1) back to monster cup for recycling?
or
2)discard?


B)can I spend more than 1 trophy to purchase more than 1 clue tokens?


thanks,
JB


A) Monster markers are returned to the cup when spent, and therefore may show up again later in the game.

Card trophies that are spent are put on the bottom of the matching (Adventure or Other World Adventure) pile, so they may show up again, too.

Part of the strategy of the game is deciding which trophies to spend, knowing that they may come back into the game.


B) No, you can only do or buy one thing per turn when you are at the Museum entrance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John blog
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheers many thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Jude wrote:
A) Monster markers are returned to the cup when spent, and therefore may show up again later in the game.

Card trophies that are spent are put on the bottom of the matching (Adventure or Other World Adventure) pile, so they may show up again, too.

Part of the strategy of the game is deciding which trophies to spend, knowing that they may come back into the game.

Objection, My Lord! Objection!

I would love to know where in the rulebook it tells you where to return such trophies. Currently I am unaware of any thread here that states the designers have clarified if this is true because it certainly is not stated in the rulebook. Feel free to correct my ignorance

Page 8 of the rules.
Quote:
Spending and Losing Trophies

When a player successfully resolves Adventure cards or
completes the tasks on Monster markers, he typically receives
these cards or markers and may later spend them as trophies
(for example when executing the buy a souvenir ability on the
Entrance reference sheet). The amount of trophies an Adventure
card or Monster marker is worth is printed on the individual
card or marker.

Note a situation may arise in which an investigator either wishes
to spend or must lose only 1 trophy but does not have an
Adventure card or Monster marker worth less than 2 trophies.
Similarly he either may wish to spend or must lose only 2
trophies but not have an Adventure card or Monster marker
worth less than 3 trophies. In such cases, he may overspend
to make his purchase or meet the requirement, but does not
receive any benefit for any extra trophies he spent or lost.

Nowhere in this section does it mention where to return spent trophies.

The rules do tell you what to do with trophies belonging to devoured Investigators.
Quote:
Being Devoured

If an investigator’s Sanity, Stamina, or both are reduced to 0 or
less, he is devoured. When an investigator is devoured, add 1
Doom token to the Doom track and return the Investigator card
and marker to the box. Then take all of his items, Allies, and
any Adventure cards he claimed as trophies and return them
facedown to the bottoms of their corresponding decks. Return
any Monster markers he claimed as trophies back to monster
cup and return his Clue tokens back to the pool of Clue tokens.

Now, if you wish to extend the logic here then you may have a case that the same applies to spent trophies but as it stands it is just an assumption. The rules are silent if this applies to spent trophies or not.

I have no objection to making this a house rule (it's how I play at the moment) but please let us be clear, it is not written anywhere in the rules that spent trophies are returned or if they are simply discarded from the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judy Krauss
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
but I'm not the only one
badge
My hands are small, I know, but they're not yours, they are my own
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct. The rules only apply to when someone is devoured. These are examples of the many holes in the rules. I apologize. I interpreted the rules that way after reading the many discussions about it here, and I do believe most players are playing that way, given a lack of an official FAQ, and based on the game's other rules, and its similarity in many ways to Arkham Horror.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a rule of logical implication.

1) The rules do not state to remove the spent trophies from the game. So we cannot do that.
2) The rules do not state to place them in a discard pile. So, we cannot create a discard pile.
3) They cannot remain with the investigator, as they have been spent.

Therefore, since they can't hover in mid-air, the only legal spot in the game space to place spent trophies is back inside the bag.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
It's a rule of logical implication.

1) The rules do not state to remove the spent trophies from the game. So we cannot do that.
2) The rules do not state to place them in a discard pile. So, we cannot create a discard pile.
3) They cannot remain with the investigator, as they have been spent.

Therefore, since they can't hover in mid-air, the only legal spot in the game space to place spent trophies is back inside the bag.

The same logic can be used to suggest...

1) The rules do not state to remove the spent trophies from the game. So we cannot do that.
2) The rules do not state to place them back inside the bag. So, we cannot do that.
3) They cannot remain with the investigator, as they have been spent.

Therefore, they are simply discarded.

I'm sure most people are playing that they are returned to the Monster cup or the bottom of the Adventure card deck, the point I'm making is that the rules do not tell us
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xris wrote:
The same logic can be used to suggest...

1) The rules do not state to remove the spent trophies from the game. So we cannot do that.
2) The rules do not state to place them back inside the bag. So, we cannot do that.
3) They cannot remain with the investigator, as they have been spent.

Therefore, they are simply discarded.


Funny, but it's only similar in form, not logic. Mine specifically only allows things which are listed in the rulebook, yours invents new game concepts. There is no such as a monster discard pile in the rulebook.

The rules as written allow for *only* three places a monster may be:

1) In the bag
2) On a card as a task
3) An unspent trophy in a player's inventory

True, the rules do not explicitly state spent trophies go back in the bag, but they do tell us implicitly, since 2 and 3 are illegal at that point. When everything else has been eliminated, what remains *must* be the answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
The rules as written allow for *only* three places a monster may be:

1) In the bag
2) On a card as a task
3) An unspent trophy in a player's inventory

Incorrect, the rules do list another place that Monster markers can be located.

Page 5
Quote:
Setup
3. Prepare Monster Cup:
If Nyarlathotep is the Ancient One, add the Mask Monster markers
(the Monster markers with a mask symbol on them) to the monster
cup. Otherwise, set the Mask Monster markers aside and do not
use them during the game.

And we know other things can be discarded from the game.
Page 11
Quote:
Being Devoured
When an investigator is devoured, add 1
Doom token to the Doom track and return the Investigator card
and marker to the box.


What about Allies? The rules do not "tell" us what to do with them once they are discarded. All 8 of them have the words "Discard this card..." printed on them.

By your logic we cannot remove them from the game because the rules do not "tell" us to. We therefore must return them to where... the bottom of the Allies deck?

After feeding Duke to one of Adventure card penalties, he can suddenly reappear? Really!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Lobkowicz
United States
High Ridge
Missouri
flag msg tools
publisher
You could be playing.
badge
Which came first, the phoenix or the flame?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I won't dissect the rules trying to guess fantasy flights intentions. They apparently don't care that their rules are ambiguous as every game they have ever published has this problem.

This in an arkham game.
In Arkham, spent monster trophies go back in the cup.

I'll put these monsters back in the cup too. cool
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.