Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Breakout: Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crossing a bridge after an unsuccessful attempt to take the bridge. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Latto
United States
Foxboro
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Suppose I try to seize a bridge, fail the die roll, and attempt to assault over the bridge anyway. The unit that attempted to seize the bridge has expended 1 MF seizing the bridge. Have other units that cross the bridge also expended an MF?
Phillip Smith's rules clarification and errata site, http://www.philipsmith.ca/breakoutnormandy/Pages/Rules/Rules... says
Quote:
Rule 8.221
Q. Rule 8.221 states that "All other units crossing a bridge successfully seized in the same impulse by this method must pay the extra MF expended in the seizure attempt". However, example of play #10 says "The Armor unit may not enter Verson because the attempt to seize that bridge by the 56th will require an additional one MF from every unit crossing during this impulse." Must the attempt be successful in order for this constraint to apply, or not?
A. Unsuccessful bridge seizure attempts costs 1 MF only to the unit attempting the seizure, whereas a successful bridge seizure attempt costs 1 MF for every unit crossing it. (Statement by Don Greenwood in Consimworld Breakout: Normandy folder, #1650 and #1667, December 18-20, 2001)

But
Section 8.221 of he deluxe edition rules wrote:
All units crossing a bridge in the same Impulse in which a seizure attempt was made must spend 1 MF before crossing. The unit making the seizure attempt pays this MF only once.

Note that the word "successful" has been removed.

Was this an accident, or a deliberate rule change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Brewer
United Kingdom
Bedford
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It would seem wise to assume that changes to the AH rules were deliberate. The new rules as written are easier to remember.

Mike
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Eliason
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
Yes, the change was deliberate. It seemed odd that a successful bridge seizure could prevent some units from assaulting while an unsuccessful seizure would not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.