Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of Victory Point development card(s)... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
lbk lbk
msg tools
Please clarify:

As we understand it--

1. You may only play 1 development card per turn.
2. You may only play a Victory Point card on a turn in which you can win (ie get to 10 Victory Points).

Ergo, you can only ever play one Victory Point card in any given game?

This has been a point of confusion for us and we cannot find a definitive answer!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lizard
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rulebook wrote:
Victory Point Cards (Yellow Frame)
You must keep Victory Point Cards hidden. You may only
reveal them during your turn and when you are sure that you
have 10 victory points—that is, to win the game. Of course,
you can reveal them after the end of the game when someone
else wins. You may play any number of Victory Point Cards
during your turn, even during the turn you purchase them.


The rules are pretty clear on this

(Note that the Victory Point cards are revealed, and not played)
15 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nacho Facello
Uruguay
Montevideo
Montevideo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
radicalizard wrote:
(Note that the Victory Point cards are revealed, and not played)


I think that's the key part right there. A development card either gives you an action (of which you can only play one each turn) or a victory point. You don't have to play the card to get the victory point, you already have it. It's just that other people don't know about it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nachof wrote:
radicalizard wrote:
(Note that the Victory Point cards are revealed, and not played)


I think that's the key part right there. A development card either gives you an action (of which you can only play one each turn) or a victory point. You don't have to play the card to get the victory point, you already have it. It's just that other people don't know about it.

This.

Going by responses from those who know the game designer (and the FAQ answers on catan.com, in Settlers, some things are choices and happen if and when the player whose turn it is decides to do them. For example, trading, building playing knight (red) or progress (green) development cards.

Other things simply happen as a consequence of the game, there is no choice, and no need to explicitly "claim" them for them to have happened. This includes getting resources from dice rolls (other than 7), having Victory points (from built structures, played knights or victory (yellow) development cards), and winning by being the first player to have the required number of Victory points on your turn.

You win if you have the points on your turn first, even if you or no-one else notices. You have the points if you have the structures and/or victory cards, even if no-one else knows. You have the Victory points for Longest Road if you have the longest road, regardless of whether anyone has checked for it and given you the card to show it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.