Paul Kimmel
United States
FPO
AP
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First let me say that I am by no means an expert at this game. I have enjoyed playing it, and I've read enough on this whole HH thing to understand the gist of it. Also, I apologize in advance if this has been suggested already, or if it's not a workable solution to the problem.

After reading a bit about New France and the history of the conflicts during the period, the first thing that struck me is that the HH breaks with history. It has the British doing what it did in the Seven Years War, but doing it a century or so earlier. The reason this works is twofold: first, the entire British Empire deck is available for purchase from the beginning of the game; and second, it's easy to thin out your draw deck early on by dumping cards into the Reserves.

And the solutions I've read here that deal with the HH have all addressed game mechanics in some way. Either limiting the possibility of playing a "thin deck" strategy, or changing the way Home Support works, or dictating what kind of cards you can put in your Reserves. But these solutions may create other problems further down the line, because they deal with the core mechanics of the game.

But what if the problem was addressed in a "Twilight Struggle" kind of way, by not allowing all the Empire cards to be available right away? There would be a little bit of fiddliness required (the addition of a turn counter), but you could reserve certain Empire cards for a later phase of the game.

This would also serve to bring the game more in line with history. After all, the first Intendant didn't arrive in New France until 1665. Should that card really be available at the beginning of the game? For that matter, why would the British bring all their available military resources to bear at the very beginning, to attack a region with a population of French settlers that numbered in the hundreds?