9 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Devoured investigator = shuffled back? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mason Qin
msg tools
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Arkham Horror, and there's one part of the rules that I find very weird: when an investigator is devoured (except during final battle of course), he is shuffled back into the unused investigator stack, and then the player will pick one at random to use, which means the freshly devoured guy may be picked right away. Isn't that strange? From a logical sense, aren't devoured investigator supposed to be removed from the game? I've checked the newest errata/faq and there's no change at that rules. Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mb
HeresiarchQin wrote:
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Arkham Horror, and there's one part of the rules that I find very weird: when an investigator is devoured (except during final battle of course), he is shuffled back into the unused investigator stack, and then the player will pick one at random to use, which means the freshly devoured guy may be picked right away. Isn't that strange? From a logical sense, aren't devoured investigator supposed to be removed from the game? I've checked the newest errata/faq and there's no change at that rules. Thanks!

You have a small chance of getting him back especially with less players.

However, I believe this rule is in place to prevent you from purposely devouring a character and hoping to draw a better one. If you ge the same one, that is just another way the Mythos says screw you.

If you want a new character though, it will be fine if you set him aside forever or only while you draw.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiwaz Tyrsfist
United States
Gladstone
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Yay, Overtext bought with supporter GG!
badge
Supporter #3170 - I hope the bonus gets high enough that I can buy GeekBadge Overtext!
mbmbmbmbmb