Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Star Trek: Fleet Captains» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking installations when enemy ship was present rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darren Hron
United States
Huntingdon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I love Games
badge
I like playing games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think we read something, but may have missed a fine point and could not find it later.

If a sector has an enemy ship either there, or moved in, do you have to first GET RID of the ship before being able to attack the installation.

I get to move into the sector, one would have to likely evade teh ship before attacking the installation. And a ship moving into defend would have to evade first to stay in the sector. But if the situation were suc that enemy ships are in a location, must there be no ships before attacking the installation?

I do understand that to exert influence there can be no enemy ships.

D
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no rule allowing ships to screen installations so go ahead and attack.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Esteban Fernandez
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Attack an installation is not an Influence action?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kabutor wrote:
Attack an installation is not an Influence action?


No, it's a Combat System Test action. It's a Weapons test against the installation's Shields rating (0, 15, or 30). Since it's a System Test and not a Combat action, you only have to equal the installation's Shields rating to destroy it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Esteban Fernandez
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I checked again the rules and it says clearly that is a Weapons Test, you can use Combat Cards to help with the test.

However I am not that sure that is not considered an Influence Action, because it is not a Combat action, thats for sure.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Hron
United States
Huntingdon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I love Games
badge
I like playing games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kabutor wrote:
I checked again the rules and it says clearly that is a Weapons Test, you can use Combat Cards to help with the test.

However I am not that sure that is not considered an Influence Action, because it is not a Combat action, thats for sure.



See that, and what i wonder. The weapons test during an influence action? I get tat this is NOT an influence that removes counters. Definite weapons test against shields...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mundane wrote:
There is no rule allowing ships to screen installations so go ahead and attack.


On a somewhat similar topic:

There is no way that you can come to the aid of one of your ships that is the target of an attack with another of your ships that happens to be at the same location as your attacked ship, is there?

You can't combine defences as you can combine attacks, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cut_ wrote:
Mundane wrote:
There is no rule allowing ships to screen installations so go ahead and attack.


On a somewhat similar topic:

There is no way that you can come to the aid of one of your ships that is the target of an attack with another of your ships that happens to be at the same location as your attacked ship, is there?

You can't combine defences as you can combine attacks, right?

You are correct. See "Combined Attacks" on page 17.
TK
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay. Thanks, Tim!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Lobkowicz
United States
High Ridge
Missouri
flag msg tools
publisher
You could be playing.
badge
Which came first, the phoenix or the flame?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kabutor wrote:
I checked again the rules and it says clearly that is a Weapons Test, you can use Combat Cards to help with the test.

However I am not that sure that is not considered an Influence Action, because it is not a Combat action, thats for sure.



If it is a systems test, shouldn't you only be able to use ops effects and not combat effects?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Eastland
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Karmic_devil wrote:
If it is a systems test, shouldn't you only be able to use ops effects and not combat effects?


As I recall, combat cards may be used on any test involving weapons or shields.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.