Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Conquest of Nerath Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: D-Day rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jarek Westermark
msg tools
mb
Correce me if I'm wrong. Can you send a flying piece to na enemy territory, then move your ships to a sea space containing enemy troops, defeat them in a seas battle, and unload the troops being transported adding them to the battle in which the dragon is participating?

Phew...

Also, during sea battles, if there are heroes on board one of the ships, they can take the damage dealt to the fleet by enemy units?
I.e. a ship carries to wheroes, it takes a hit, only one hero dies, correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snappy Dan
United States
Wesley Chapel
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yourand wrote:
Can you send a flying piece to na enemy territory, then move your ships to a sea space containing enemy troops, defeat them in a seas battle, and unload the troops being transported adding them to the battle in which the dragon is participating?

Yes. That's why sea battles are resolved first.

Yourand wrote:
Also, during sea battles, if there are heroes on board one of the ships, they can take the damage dealt to the fleet by enemy units?

Heroes are the only land pieces that, while embarked on a Warship, can attack (roll dice) and be assigned damage during a sea battle.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vayda
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
https://sites.google.com/site/cnjxwing/home
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heroes take hits on ships!?!? Is that in the rule book?

I know that add hits... I have to go look now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noble Knave
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I wasn't certain about that either. Here's what the rules say on the subject:

Pg 13 wrote:

Sea Battles
Sea battles take place in sea spaces. Only flying pieces, sea
pieces, and Heroes carried on Warships can fight in sea battles.
Carried Pieces in Sea Battles: Heroes can fight in a sea battle
while carried by a Warship. Other land pieces (Footsoldiers,
Monsters, and Siege Engines) are simply cargo; they cannot fight
in a sea battle.
Land pieces that cannot fight in the sea battle cannot take
damage. If a Warship takes damage, it is destroyed along with
all land pieces it carries (including Heroes). For this reason, you
need to keep track of which Warship is carrying which pieces.


Pg 20 wrote:

Battle at Sea: A Hero who is carried on a Warship can roll
attack dice in sea battles, both when attacking and when
defending. However, if that Warship is destroyed, the Hero
(and any other carried piece) is immediately destroyed.
See “Sea Battles” on page 13.


So at first I thought they couldn't take damage, but only roll dice. Now I'm not certain based on the two passages; the first implies that Heroes, since they can fight, can take damage, but the second implies that the Warship has to take the hit and takes the Heroes down with it. Is there an official ruling on this? I suspect after re-reading it that heroes can take hits, but it's not ever stated explicitly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilias Sellountos
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key is "Land pieces that cannot fight in the sea battle cannot take damage." If heroes could not take damage the rules would have simply been "Land pieces cannot take damage.", yet the rules clearly differenciate between land units that can and cannot participate in the battle in regards to taking damage.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.