Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tobago» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 Leg Movement Calrification... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Embley
United States
Gaithersburg
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems that there's an error in the rule book under "Picking up Amulets." The example is as follows: "Lola takes the first let to drive to amulet A [movement 1]. As she has to stop there to pick it up, she needs another leg to reach the end of the mountains [movement 2]. She uses the third leg to cross over the beach [movement 3], where she picks up the amulet B from underneath Rogers's ATV [movement 4?]." -- Isn't this 4 legs of movement?

Also, the example right after this seems to have the same 4 movements. Could somebody please clarify for me?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The act of picking up an amulet doesn't use up one of the movement points. However you need to stop to pick up an amulet, so one of your points of movement must be used up as soon as you do.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
drummermark wrote:
It seems that there's an error in the rule book under "Picking up Amulets." The example is as follows: "Lola takes the first let to drive to amulet A [movement 1]. As she has to stop there to pick it up, she needs another leg to reach the end of the mountains [movement 2]. She uses the third leg to cross over the beach [movement 3], where she picks up the amulet B from underneath Rogers's ATV [movement 4?]." -- Isn't this 4 legs of movement?

No, only 3. You do not use up a leg to pick it up. However, you must be done with a leg in order to stop and collect it. In other words, you can't simply drive over it and pick it up as you pass by.

To look at the example the other way, Lola could have gotten to the end of the mountains in 1 leg as it is all the same terrain. Her second leg is then to cross over to beach. But then she wouldn't have been able to pick up the Amulet at A even though she could drive through it.

Quote:
Also, the example right after this seems to have the same 4 movements. Could somebody please clarify for me?

Thanks!

Roger is still at 3 as well. He stops in Beach for 1 leg, then picks up the amulet. He crosses over to Mountain as his second leg and stops. His third leg is to cross over to another terrain at which point he stops. Again, since he is stopped, he can pick up the Amulet.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Embley
United States
Gaithersburg
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks - makes sense; however, why didn't 'Roger' pick up the amulet on the end of his previous turn? (Perhaps it appeared after his previous turn ended, otherwise wouldn't he have just picked it up?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
drummermark wrote:
Thanks - makes sense; however, why didn't 'Roger' pick up the amulet on the end of his previous turn? (Perhaps it appeared after his previous turn ended, otherwise wouldn't he have just picked it up?)

One assumption is that it was placed after his turn. Since he was hoping to pick it up before his move, it wasn't there at the end of his last turn.

The other option was that he spent an amulet to get there last turn and this prevented him from picking it up. Though this seems less likely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Embley
United States
Gaithersburg
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
drummermark wrote:
Thanks - makes sense; however, why didn't 'Roger' pick up the amulet on the end of his previous turn? (Perhaps it appeared after his previous turn ended, otherwise wouldn't he have just picked it up?)

One assumption is that it was placed after his turn. Since he was hoping to pick it up before his move, it wasn't there at the end of his last turn.

The other option was that he spent an amulet to get there last turn and this prevented him from picking it up. Though this seems less likely.


Crystal clear! Thanks for your time!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.