J C
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
...as in, right after they "give birth," thus making room for the babies after all (if you wouldn't be able to keep them otherwise)? We've been playing this way, because the rules don't say otherwise, but it does seem like a loophole.

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, that's not correct.

The best way of explaining it differs, but I think it's easiest to remember:

Harvest crops

THEN feed your family

THEN breed animals.

So, if you start the harvest with two sheep, you will only finish with one, because you have to feed before the potential breeding. If you start with three, of course, you can eat one and breed the other two.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Baby animals and parent animals may not be converted into Food immediately after the birth


The current english rule (above) seems pretty clear.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Got it. Thanks for the quick explanation!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derakon Derakon
msg tools
The way I generally think of it is that the animals don't give birth unless there's room for the baby.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian McCarty
United States
La Crescent
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Example. You have 3 sheep. You cook one to feed your family. The two left over then breed.

Brian
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Young
United States
Sterling
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
costanzojt wrote:
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?


We do it all the time. We don't even bother removing the pieces. Last night, in fact, the same 3 sheep provided me two food for several harvests.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
costanzojt wrote:
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?


The meat is less tender, but more plentiful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike T
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
costanzojt wrote:
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?


Technically no: what you are actually doing in this example is slaughtering the 3rd animal BEFORE the breeding phase. The breeding phase consists only of breeding.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Boote
United Kingdom
Virginia Water
Surrey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
No, that's not correct.

The best way of explaining it differs, but I think it's easiest to remember:

Harvest crops

THEN feed your family

THEN breed animals.

So, if you start the harvest with two sheep, you will only finish with one, because you have to feed before the potential breeding. If you start with three, of course, you can eat one and breed the other two.


Hence the mnemonic
Seed
Feed
Breed
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chrisboote wrote:

Hence the mnemonic
Seed
Feed
Breed


I like the concept of a mnemonic, but it's not a very good one, is it? People could easily remember that as 'Feed Breed Seed' or 'Breed Seed Feed' and not be any wiser. The point of a mnemonic is that it's supposed to be EASIER to remember than the thing you're trying to remember.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Young
United States
Sterling
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My Mnemonic is:
Look
At
The
Bottom
Right
Of
The
Last
Board.
They
Are
Printed
Plainly
There.

Or LATBROTLBTAPPT fopr short.
21 
 Thumb up
0.27
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
Chrisboote wrote:

Hence the mnemonic
Seed
Feed
Breed


I like the concept of a mnemonic, but it's not a very good one, is it? People could easily remember that as 'Feed Breed Seed' or 'Breed Seed Feed' and not be any wiser. The point of a mnemonic is that it's supposed to be EASIER to remember than the thing you're trying to remember.


This is a good point, but if you remember that they're reverse alphabetical, you're all set. Or, convert it to San Francisco Bay, and you're golden. whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shields
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
costanzojt wrote:
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?


As Brian says, you cannot do this the way you describe. You cannot wait until the breeding phase and then slaughter an animal to make room.

However, it doesn't really matter because you can simply slaughter just enough animals during the feeding phase to make room, and then let them grow at the end.

It comes out exactly the same, you just have to remember to do it before the last second.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn -
msg tools
mb
TwitchBot wrote:
costanzojt wrote:
Then as a follow-up question, suppose you have more than 2 of a type of animal, it's the breeding phase, and you have no room to accommodate a baby. Can you instantly slaughter one of those animals for food (with the hearth or a similar card) and take the baby; in other words, the same effect as slaughtering the baby itself?


As Brian says, you cannot do this the way you describe. You cannot wait until the breeding phase and then slaughter an animal to make room.

However, it doesn't really matter because you can simply slaughter just enough animals during the feeding phase to make room, and then let them grow at the end.

It comes out exactly the same, you just have to remember to do it before the last second.


Why can't he do it in the way described? afaik there is no rule that forbids to cook animals during the breeding phase. It's only forbidden to cook parents or childs. So when you have 3 sheep when reaching the breeding phase you can still cook the one which isn't part of the parents an get the baby-sheep anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dermerlin wrote:
Why can't he do it in the way described? afaik there is no rule that forbids to cook animals during the breeding phase. It's only forbidden to cook parents or childs. So when you have 3 sheep when reaching the breeding phase you can still cook the one which isn't part of the parents an get the baby-sheep anyway.


Which is, effectively, exactly the same as doing it during the feeding phase. There really isn't any difference.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.