Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Discworld: Ankh-Morpork» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chrysoprase & Demons.. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon Kwong
msg tools
Does the demons affect chrysophrase with the buildings counting as money? The rulebook specifically says the "net worth - original cost of building" so this sounds like it doesn't but am still on the fence. Any thoughts?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
schnapes wrote:
Does the demons affect chrysophrase with the buildings counting as money?


The rules also state (under Demons on the last page)

While there are one or more demons in an area the power on the City Area
card cannot be used and any building there has a value of zero.


So yes, Demons affect Chrysoprase.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kwong
msg tools
Yes I have read that one already, just thought it funny how they worded it as "original cost of building" rather than simply "value" which implies it's not affected, i.e even if the value is NOW $0, the "original cost" was still $12. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
schnapes wrote:
just thought it funny how they worded it as "original cost of building"


Searching the online rules here on BGG, I do not find the term "original cost of building". Where do see this in the rules?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kwong
msg tools
Sorry that's me being lazy and not lifting straight. The actual words are (I have the rule book out this time).

"your cash plus the monetary cost of each building you have"

It doesn't say original (my bad), but this sentence uses the term monetary cost instead of VALUE which implies it might not be affected by demons. i.e In the same vein, whilst the VALUE of the building might drop, the monetary cost is always the same as what you bought it at. Call this crazy logic, but I can't help thinking if the designer's meant value why didn't they just say..

"your cash plus the value of each building you have" ?

Thanks again !

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Wallace
United Kingdom
Manchester
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Demons would reduce the value of a building to zero for the purposes of your total wealth.

Martin
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kwong
msg tools
Thanks !! I guess answers don't get any more definitive than that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.