Craig.
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
...
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According the the rules, "A 10 point Asian Explorer bonus is awarded to the player(s) who have connected the most cities in one continuous network of routes with trains of their color." What exactly does that mean. Consider the following two players:

Player 1: 16 cities connected, 11 of which are connected in a single line without any branches.

Player 2: 14 cities connected, 11 of which are connected in a single line without any branches.

Who wins? If "network of routes" means all the cities connected, then Player 1 wins. If it means only in a continuous line (similar to the longest route bonus in other TtR versions), then they tie and both get the bonus.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Taylor-Smith
Canada
Okotoks
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note the explorer bonus is not like the longest route bonus in the original Ticket to Ride.

In the rulebook for Legendary Asia it states (End Game Bonus) the continuous network may contain branches and loops but each city is only counted once. So clearly player 1 gets the bonus.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Robert says. This is a bonus that definitely emphasizes the value of that nest of short, southern routes (a counter to Europe, where plopping down as many loooong routes as possible will often pull you way ahead and help you toward a 'longest route' bonus), while at the same time making mountain routes a little more dicey, as you have fewer trains with which to connect cities. However, you're ending the game sooner...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig.
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
...
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
flapjackmachine wrote:
Note the explorer bonus is not like the longest route bonus in the original Ticket to Ride.

In the rulebook for Legendary Asia it states (End Game Bonus) the continuous network may contain branches and loops but each city is only counted once. So clearly player 1 gets the bonus.


Doh! I guess I should have read the next sentence in the rule book:

"A 10 point Asian Explorer bonus is awarded to the player(s) who have connected the most cities in one continuous network of routes with trains of their color. This network may contain various branches connected to each other, as well as loops, but each city on the network may only be counted once."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gamov
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We were wondering when you play Legendary Asia (and any other maps than the base game) if you still play with the 10 points bonus for the longest path?
In other words, does the Asian Explorer bonus replace or add to the standard longest path bonus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig.
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
...
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gamov wrote:
We were wondering when you play Legendary Asia (and any other maps than the base game) if you still play with the 10 points bonus for the longest path?
In other words, does the Asian Explorer bonus replace or add to the standard longest path bonus?

I believe that the Asian Explorer bonus replaces the standard longest path bonus in this version of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
vagelis
Greece
Πειραιάς
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

in this case the red player connect 4 cities or 5???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Amick
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
matsas wrote:

in this case the red player connect 4 cities or 5???


Five. The rules specifically say branches are fine.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.