Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Guarded? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Roberts
United States
Southlake
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of questions regarding the keyword "guarded" on objectives:
(1) Can an objective only be guarded by one card? Or do you just keep stacking enemies and locations on guarded items as the enemies and locations come out of the deck? We have been playing that only one card can guard an objective.
(2) Do enemies guarding an objective auto-engage as normal? If so, what happens to the objective? We have been playing that guarding enemies do not auto-engage, although I don't think that is right anymore based on the FAQ below. It sounds like the objective just follows the auto-engaging enemy as an attachment.
(3) When a location is guarding an objective and the players travel to the location, does the objective just follow it physically or does the objective stay in the staging area? From the FAQs, it sounds like the objective follows the location as an attachment. That is not how we have been playing it, though, although the net effect is the same (we required the location to be fully explored before the objective was considered unguarded.

The FAQs provide:
Quote:
(1.17) Unclaimed Objectives
An unclaimed objective is one that is not currently claimed and under the control of a player. An unclaimed objective can be guarded or unguarded. A guarded objective is treated like an attachment if guarded by an enemy or location, and remains attached to that card until it leaves play, at which point it will return to the staging area. Any unclaimed objective in the staging area that is not attached to a card is considered to be unguarded. If an objective is claimed at one point, and then returns to the staging area, it regains the status of unclaimed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you have it now:

1) Only one card guards
2) Enemies that are guards behave normally, so auto-engage
3) The object moves with the location. If you fully explore the location, spo it goes out of play, then the object returns to the staging area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.