K Brown

Washington
msg tools
Having played the various Catan games literally 1000s of times, we came across a variation for which I couldn't find anything in the written rules. Help!

Here was the situation. Player 1 built a road and positioned a new knight at an open intersection of player 2's road who held the longest road card. This break in the road resulted in player 2 losing the longest road card; however, both player 1 and player 3 now had the same number of roads (which exceeded the 5 or more requirement). Bottom line: if either player receives the longest player road, he has the 13 points required for victory...do we have a winner?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brook Gentlestream
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

In this case, nobody has the longest road and the card is set aside until someone has a road that is clearly longer.

This can be found in the rulebook at the top of page 9. "Set the Longest Road card aside if, after a longest road is broken, several players tie for the new longest road or no one has a 5+ segment road. The Longest Road card comes into play again when only 1 player has the longest road (of at least 5 road pieces)."
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håkan König
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pamnkory wrote:
Having played the various Catan games literally 1000s of times, we came across a variation for which I couldn't find anything in the written rules. Help!

Here was the situation. Player 1 built a road and positioned a new knight at an open intersection of player 2's road who held the longest road card. This break in the road resulted in player 2 losing the longest road card; however, both player 1 and player 3 now had the same number of roads (which exceeded the 5 or more requirement). Bottom line: if either player receives the longest player road, he has the 13 points required for victory...do we have a winner?
lordrahvin wrote:

In this case, nobody has the longest road and the card is set aside until someone has a road that is clearly longer.

This can be found in the rulebook at the top of page 9. "Set the Longest Road card aside if, after a longest road is broken, several players tie for the new longest road or no one has a 5+ segment road. The Longest Road card comes into play again when only 1 player has the longest road (of at least 5 road pieces)."
Also note that a player can only win on his own turn, no matter how many points any other player has. Assume that P1 & P3 all have 9 points when playing to 10 and P2 has the longest road. P1 breaks the longest road of P2, by building a settlement, thus giving P3 longest road. P3 now has a total of 11p. But since P1 have the 10p needed for victory, he still wins.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K Brown

Washington
msg tools
Was focused on the wrong rule book (looking at Cities and answer was in Settlers). Thanks! (except that I was Player 1:-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.