Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Companions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Povey
United Kingdom
Haslingden
Lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If a Companion is in the same region as a FSP army is he automatically assumed to be a part of that army when it is attacked?

If the region is attacked and the FSP army eliminated is the companion also eliminated or can a player decide before the region is attacked that the companion is NOT a part of the army (and therefore avoid him being eliminated)?

If the region has a stronghold and the army and companion retreat - then if the army is destroyed is the companion also eliminated - or can he decide not to take part in the battle and then escape afterwards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Timelord23 wrote:
If a Companion is in the same region as a FSP army is he automatically assumed to be a part of that army when it is attacked?


Yes!

Page 28:

"Note that all defending units, including Leaders and Characters, are allways considered to be part of the battle."

Timelord23 wrote:
If the region is attacked and the FSP army eliminated is the companion also eliminated or can a player decide before the region is attacked that the companion is NOT a part of the army (and therefore avoid him being eliminated)?


The Companion(s) (or Minion(s)) is eliminated with the Army, see above rules quote as well as:

Page 30:

"Elimination of Leaders and Characters
If all the Army units involved in a battle are eliminated, then all Leaders (including Characters) that were part of that Army are also immideately removed from play."

Timelord23 wrote:
If the region has a stronghold and the army and companion retreat - then if the army is destroyed is the companion also eliminated - or can he decide not to take part in the battle and then escape afterwards?


The Character is eliminated along with the Army, see previous answers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jflartner
United States
Conshohocken
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Veldrin wrote:


The Companion(s) (or Minion(s)) is eliminated with the Army, see above rules quote as well as:

Page 30:

"Elimination of Leaders and Characters
If all the Army units involved in a battle are eliminated, then all Leaders (including Characters) that were part of that Army are also immideately removed from play."


Does that hold true even if the characters present in the captured region includes the ringbearer? If so, does the ringbearer get removed from the game Nd the shadow player wins?


Can a player use a character die result to move characters away from a friendly army and into a region controlled by an army of the opposing player?

Can a player move characters away from an army that is currently in a beseiged stronghold?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jobin13 wrote:
Does that hold true even if the characters present in the captured region includes the ringbearer? If so, does the ringbearer get removed from the game Nd the shadow player wins?


The Ring-bearers are not Characters, and cannot be damaged in any way except through The Hunt for the Ring and Event cards that target them.

The Fellowship of the Ring consists of:

The Ring-bearers (Frodo & Sam) and any Companions not yet separated from them.

Companions with Armies only happen once the Companion(s) has separated from the Fellowship.

Also note that (page 38):

"Note: The Fellowship may enter or leave a besieged Stronghold freely."

and (page 39):

"Once a Companion separates from the Fellowship, he can never rejoin."

jobin13 wrote:
Can a player use a character die result to move characters away from a friendly army and into a region controlled by an army of the opposing player?


Yes.

Page 24:

"They [Companions] are unaffected by any enemy Army. When moving alone or with other Companions, they can enter or leave a region that contains Shadow units, but must stop upon entering a region containing a Stronghold controlled by the Shadow player."



jobin13 wrote:
Can a player move characters away from an army that is currently in a beseiged stronghold?


No!

Page 24:

"They [Companions] can never leave or enter a region containing a friendly Stronghold besieged by an enemy Army (except as a result of certain Event Card effects)."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.