Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
From another thread:
fubar awol wrote:
mvkhaos wrote:
fubar awol wrote:

Tell them to allocate 2 dice to the hunt on the first turn.

Apologies for thread-jacking here. Why do you say this? I would think (haven't played enough to say for sure) that the shadow player would rather not hunt on the first turn. I'd rather have a successful hunt when the fellowship is one or two movements away from Rivendell so I can drop a nazgul on their position.

It is a hijack: start another thread if you want to discuss hunt dice allocation.

So I don't know if fubar awol will see this, but my question for him still stands.

More generally, what sorts of strategies do Shadow players use in hunting the ring? It seems to me that it's critical to get the fellowship exposed in the open somewhere you can plant an army and a nazgul to get re-rolls.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate
United States
Essex Junction
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game, but that's what I would guess, too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
mvkhaos wrote:
From another thread:

fubar awol wrote:

So I don't know if fubar awol will see this, but my question for him still stands.

My recommendation was for a specific context: a new player who will not tolerate a long rules explanation. The purpose of the recommendation was to make sure a hunt roll happens on the first turn - and potentially a successful one so you can demo the tile draw part of the game.

mvkhaos wrote:
More generally, what sorts of strategies do Shadow players use in hunting the ring? It seems to me that it's critical to get the fellowship exposed in the open somewhere you can plant an army and a nazgul to get re-rolls.

The only way to get the FP "exposed in the open" is through a successful hunt followed by the successful pull of a reveal tile.