GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,408 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Witch of Salem» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can the Witch of Salem (RC) counter the GOO in R'lyeh's effect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Smith
New Zealand
Wellington
--------------
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a game of WoS recently, we had Nyarlathotep as a Shadow in Miskatonic University and Cthulhu revealed as the Great Old One in R'lyeh. Not good news really, as the former's effect is to apply the result of the Loss Die Roll twice, and the latter's effect is to require the Loss Die to be rolled twice ! But the question then arose as to whether, if Robert Craven was at MU with you, would he cancel out just the Shadow's effect, or both the Shadow's effect and Cthulhu's.

We then realised that the same question would come up wherever on the board you (and RC) went if there was a Creature card there - ie, does RC protect you from just the Creature Loss Die roll, or from BOTH the Creature Loss Die roll AND the Cthulhu in R'lyeh effect?

Interestingly, it wouldn't be a concern the other way, though. If Nyarlathotep was the GOO in R'lyeh, his wording says "Apply the result from each loss die roll twice", and there would be no Loss Die rolls in the first place if the Witch of Salem was present. By contrast, Cthulhu's card says "When encountering a creature or Cthulhu's shadow, you must roll the loss die twice ...".

From the Rules wording, the question seems to turn on whether there is still an 'encounter' with a Creature or Shadow if the Witch of Salem is with you.

(1) Under the strict wording it would seem that RC being there does not mean there is no encounter, but just means you don't have to roll the Loss Die when there is. In which case the Cthulhu effect would still apply in our situation (at MU and all around the board).

(2) The alternative interpretation is that the Cthulhu effect is only intended to increase the outcome if you DO have to roll (and so the presence of RC would effectively counter that effect also).

I hope people can understand my convoluted explanation of the point [sorry!].

It seems to us that the wording on the Cthulu card and the Rules favour interpretation (1), especially when you compare the very precise wording on the Nyarlathotep card. But that seems pretty tough (in an already tough game), and maybe not what was intended. Interested in anyone's thoughts/views (especially if they are authoritative). Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Yeager
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The awkwardness is probably down to the Robert Craven rules not canceling the encounter, because the second step of the encounter is to defeat the creature. The intent is that the monster/shadow doesn't attack you (canceling part one of the encounter), but permits you to defeat the monster/shadow (allowing part two of the encounter). We have certainly interpreted the rules as Robert Craven completely shuts down the attack portion of the encounter, so both the die effect in R'lyeh and at Miskatonic would be ignored for players at Robert's location.

I hope that helps!
Alex Yeager
Mayfair Games
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
New Zealand
Wellington
--------------
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks very much Alex! [And I see your point about there being an encounter still permitting the Creature to be defeated also].

Much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.