Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Bios: Megafauna» Forums » Rules

Subject: Genotype cards and existing species rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoffrey Phipps
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
A question came up in a "learning" game today.

I had already created a new species (B) using expansion.

A little later in the game a genotype card appeared in the display with silhouette B. I could not buy it and place it in the fossil record because my species B did not have sufficient matching DNA. I can't use it to "replace" the existing species, so as far as I can see I can't use that genotype. All I could do is buy it and discard it (which can be sensible if it has some gene counters on it already)

Is the above correct?

cheers
Geoff
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I know that is true.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Parrott
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, since neither of your species were solely qualified to play the card, you would discard it and retain any genes on the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Cameron

Hicksville
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It isn't just discarded but goes into your fossil record & counts for victory points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Riverside
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
per the Living Rules 4/3/2012

7.5 Playing a Genotype Card (Fossil Record).
If you purchase a genotype card for a species that is already in use, then instead of creating a new species, you add the card to your fossil record (4.4e), where it will count victory points at the end of the game per 18.1a.

a. Parental Requirements. Under this option, the parent species must
match the silhouette, size-range, and at least half the DNA of the geno-
type card. The parent species does not change as a result of this play.

i.e., it is discarded and does not go into your fossil record.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.