Christopher O
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
mbmbmbmbmb
Even playing since 2007 (or maybe BECAUSE I've been playing since 2007), occasionally I forget a rule or two.

Q1 - Can HQs add their leadership rating to the firepower of HE mortar attacks?

Per 1.3.3.2 in the Untold Stories rulebook, HQs can add their leadership rating to the firepower of any one attacking unit in their hex. Section 1.3.4.3 does not note an exception for mortars, as far as I can see. In many other games, leadership does not modify indirect fire attacks, but this isn't all those other games, this is WaW!

Assumed answer: Yes, HQs may add their leadership rating to the firepower of one HE mortar attack in the hex.

Q2 - Leaders can modify ANY value on the platoon's counter? Really?

OK, this isn't really a rules question, per se, more of a balance question - I had an opponent coming at me with an East German T-72 platoon with a leader attached. He consistently modified the armour save value to 5 (from 6). He was rolling four dice, saving on fives, against direct fire. From everything I read in 1.3.6 in the Untold Stories rulebook, this is entirely legal.

4-5 armour and 9 morale for the purposes of disruption recovery AND always being in command is an extremely potent combination.

Assumed answer: Yes, ANY value. It's right there in the rules, stupid!

I think I found a little trick for leader-killing, though. Hit the hex with mortar fire (if/when you have it) first, potentially disrupting the unit. Since the save is based only on the infantry cover value AND the save number is NOT on the counter, it may not be modified. Then hit the hex with all the fire you have.

How do other people use leaders or counteract the effectiveness of leaders?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ste.
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kozure wrote: