Ryan Wanless
United States
Hollywood
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am in the process of making a game. Currently I am hand molding the game parts. I have a master model of the basic pieces (hexagons). I am at the point where I am wondering “is it worth the time and energy making models for each unit (which would be less than an inch big) or would some sort of token representation be enough.”

I know a model of each unit type would look better, as it brings the ‘world’ more to life, but it would take a while to sculpt each one (24 in total)
I have noticed a fair amount of games use tokens and it works, I mean generally if you play board games you have a good imagination to visualize the actions going on.

I guess I am looking for opinions and insight on models vs. tokens

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Shipley
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
the liberal unsavory type
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are making a game for yourself, make it look as cool as you want. If you publish it, you will probably need to make some compromises. There are a lot of standard pieces out there, plastic and wooden, to choose from and people can help you find things that would work with more info.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Smaka
msg tools
It depends on what you are really aiming for within your game. Some games do just fine with tokens while others would be bland without the actual models. Just as a point for clarification, what type of models are you creating and are there only going to be 24 of them? If you really want models take a look at www.shapeways.com there are a whole hoard of designers there that make just about anything. I have made a few things as well for two boardgames that I am creating and you could find them under STC Limited at the shapeways website to see what I mean.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip W.
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Euros are better with dice!
mbmbmbmbmb