Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Improved hulls equal invincibility against ancients? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter T Davies
United Kingdom
Crewe
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just checking that even an interceptor with an improved hull (absorbs 2 hits) is going to be invincible to an ancient ship, since that can only inflict a maximum of two hits.

Consequently, once the improved hull upgrade is made (after research, of course), there is no point rolling for combat once you assemble a fleet with improved hulls that can inflict two hits on the ancient ship (e.g. one interceptor with a plasma cannon or two interceptors with ion cannons), as they will absorb all hits themselves, and keep rolling until they get two simultaneous hits: the first absorbed by the ancient's hull and the second destroying it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
You don't need any more.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Damage is not removed after a round is over, only after the whole battle is done. That means an ancient can easily kill a fighter with improved hulls, it just takes him three hits.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter T Davies
United Kingdom
Crewe
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you - I thought this seemed too good to be true!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Luis Rodriguez Mena
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Then, what happens if you have a -2 upgrade tile (Phase shield)?
In this case, can you say you're invincible?

If the Ancients subtract 2 from die roll... they never can hit you.

i.e. 6 (die roll) +1(ancient tech) -2 (Phase shield) = 5 --> no hit


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ade Lewis
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
6 always hits no matter what.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Håvard Sommerseth
Norway
Kløfta
Kløfta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jose633 wrote:
Then, what happens if you have a -2 upgrade tile (Phase shield)?
In this case, can you say you're invincible?

If the Ancients subtract 2 from die roll... they never can hit you.

i.e. 6 (die roll) +1(ancient tech) -2 (Phase shield) = 5 --> no hit




No. A natural 6 is always a hit.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Luis Rodriguez Mena
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's true. How could I overlooked that rule??!! surprise
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Purple Paladin

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Without the "6 is always a hit" rule, good luck EVER hitting a ship sometimes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
★★★★☆
Canada
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
You don't study scaring, you just do it.
badge
I'm not even breaking a sweat.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jose633 wrote:
That's true. How could I overlook that rule??!! surprise


We over looked that our first playthrough as well. Then at the end we started to question it as we seemed too strong vs ancients.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.