Thumb up
2 Posts

Conquest of Paradise» Forums » Rules

Subject: "garrison" of conquered independent island group rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Entner
msg tools
The rules state that once one conquers an independent island group (IIG), one must retain at least one unit therein. This implies that one cannot voluntarily abandon the hex. However, there are at least two cases where one might involuntarily abandon the hex: 1) losing a battle and retreating or 2) being removed by the action of an event card (e.g. typhoon). In case 1, does the victor inherit the same requirement to not abandon the hex? In case 2, what happens if there are no remaining player units in the hex due to involuntary removal? I assume where one has to choose a unit to remove (e.g. pacification), one could not choose such that it would leave a conquered IIG unit-less unless there were no other units eligible for removal.

We came close to this situation in a game tonight, with a typhoon hitting an adjacent island group. We agreed that we would've marked the IIG (no local warriors, no village) without any other penalties.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
flag msg tools
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Good question, Jonathan! Or at least 2) is a good one. I think you already know the answer to 1): the victor does indeed inherit the same requirement to not abandon the hex.

In case 2, I'm going with an answer that's different from yours: if the only unit garrisoning an independent island group is involuntarily removed by a random event, then the IIG becomes independent again. The indigenous population has taken advantage of the turmoil created by the typhoon to throw off the yoke of their oppressors!

The IGG's have been occupied by other peoples (Micronesians and Melanesians) for hundreds and even thousands of years by the time the Polynesians came along. They were culturally different, so any conquest of their islands would be tenuous and dependent on constant occupation. If the occupier's force is so thin that a typhoon can wipe it out, then they will regain their independence.

Hope this helps,

 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.