Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Jennings
United States
upper chichester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am fairly new to wargaming. I'd like to know which is an easier game to learn/teach....this or Paths of Glory. I can handle games like Washington's War and would like to move on to something a little more complex but not too complex.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Both PoG and BtB are Racier games, which means heavy scripting of events, unlike WaWa. I'd suggest Hannibal, because it is excellent and doesn't have the scripting. For The People is good as well, but even more complex IMO than PoG or BtB. I'd say BtB has less exceptions than PoG, although it doesn't have much strategic flexibility. The west is a sideshow to Russia.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A little more complex than Washington's War which also plays similarly: Wilderness War

But i don't now if you are interested in the subject matter.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Jennings
United States
upper chichester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies guys....I was thinking of getting the Wilderness War as well and will probably pick that up now as a next step. I appreciate your opinions guys.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott
United States
Redding
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you want WW2, check out No Retreat.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
jpj5010 wrote:
I am fairly new to wargaming. I'd like to know which is an easier game to learn/teach....this or Paths of Glory. I can handle games like Washington's War and would like to move on to something a little more complex but not too complex.