Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ora et Labora» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confusion On Purchasing New Region Tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly how may times can you buy a region tile? (i.e. new forest, hillside or coastal regions)

In the rule book it states you can do so "once per turn", but nowhere else in the rules is it explained exactly what a "turn" is?

It mentions a "round" which is a full turn of play, i.e. player 1 has a go, player 2, then player 3, then player 4 then back to a final go from player 1.

So- can you only buy terrain "once per round" or is it "once per action"?

if it is once per action- can, like my example above- player 1 purchase two region tiles? Once on his first action and secondly when it comes round to his second action?

I was confused in the rules over the exclusive terms for "action", "round" and "turn" which confused me a bit!

Thanks in advance!
Ewan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcturus2006 wrote:
In the rule book it states you can do so "once per turn", but nowhere else in the rules is it explained exactly what a "turn" is?


Your turn is when the previous player says "Ok, I'm done, go ahead Ewan". cool

Tongue in cheek, but true. When it's your turn to take an action, it's your turn. So yes, it's each action.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah thx Steve!
So turn is effectively similar to "action", they're two in the same thing!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Dee
United Kingdom
Lancaster
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arcturus2006 wrote:
Ah thx Steve!
So turn is effectively similar to "action", they're two in the same thing!


Except in two-player Ora et Labora.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lukas Bronzel
Poland
flag msg tools
Once per turn while playin 1 player OeL aswell.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Idle Muse wrote:
Except in two-player Ora et Labora.


True, the two player rules do merge the two actions into one turn, since you take two in a row. And it's explicitly mentioned:

"During your effectively three actions in a row, you can buy up to
two landscapes (districts and plots); one during your first action
and another in either your second or third action."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.