Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

RRR» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sorceress and Shaman rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Travis Bryant
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a Shaman or Sorceress cancel the destruction of a tile?

For example:

My opponent uses her Pirate to destroy my Temple. The Temple is flipped, but not yet off the board.

On my next turn could I use the Shaman to cancel the Pirate's effect, thereby reinstating my Temple?

Thanks!
Travis
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. The Shaman simply sees to that the effect cannot be used. It doesn't prevent things from happening retrospectively.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Bryant
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
So those two tiles are more of a protection against future active effects, rather than an undo of previously activated ones -- correct?

– and Thank You for the clarification(s)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Nothing really undoes what another tile has done. The tiles that turn tiles don't turn them back. They turn them again. Shaman and Sorceress have the passive effect that no active effects within their ranges can happen. Effects that previously happened in the game are not reverted (it would be rather silly if they were).
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Bryant
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That makes a lot of sense. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Soman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
Hello, I have another question about this tiles:

On both of them is written:

"Negates the active effect for tiles placed on any of the four orthogonally adjacent
spaces."

I understated, that "active effect" means effect, that remains (is permanent). For example, I used Shaman against Sage and tiles covered by him are not protected more.

But i see, that it was wrong way and "active effect" means active effect, that happens just after tile´s placing.

Is this way correct?

Thanks for answers and I hope, that my non-English was clear ...

Som
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording is sub-optimal: "active effect" is here the opposite of "passive effect".
A "passive effect" is something that's effective at all times.
An "active effect" is an effect that's applied when the tile is placed.

Sorceress and shaman both block "active effects", i.e. effects that happen when the tiles are placed. They do NOT negate the passive effect (the effects that are perpetual).
In retrospect, "passive effects" should probably have been called "perpetual" and "active effects" should have been "immediate effects" or something.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Soman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
Hi, so it means that Sorceress/Shaman is placed only as prevention against futher tiles with active (immediate) effect?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
somanr wrote:
Hi, so it means that Sorceress/Shaman is placed only as prevention against futher tiles with active (immediate) effect?


Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Soman
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mb
Zimeon, thanks for your help.

Have a nice day!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.