Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leader casualty check - timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scipio O.
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the timing/impact of a leader casualty in determining if a unit may ignore a flag? If a unit with a leader takes a hit and a flag, it loses a block and has to roll for leader casualty. Two sabers are rolled, and the leader is no more. Does it then also have to retreat and not battle back?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Bob
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rules (pg 10);

Step #7: Resolve Combat (roll the dice)
Step #8: Scoring Hits (this includes the "Hitting a Leader" rules)
Step #9: Apply Retreats

So if the leader dies during Step #8, then any retreat flag results would be applied in Step #9.

At least, that's the way I read the rules.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Evil Bob has it right. Hits are resolved first including leader casualty checks. Then all flags are resolved. So if the leader is gone, his ability to ignore flags is gone as well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.