Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ninjato» Forums » Rules

Subject: Switching battle style mid-card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christine Biancheria
United States
Pittsburgh
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I fight an elite guard that is actually 2 guards, can I switch from strength to stealth in the middle of the battle with that one card if I have the skill that lets me switch?

Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. B. West
United States
Beech Grove
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Why aren't you PLAYING a game?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can. The two guards are treated separately.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pol Michiels
Belgium
Ottenburg
Vlaams brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Of all people who have nothing to say, those who say nothing are the wisest.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
adamw wrote:
Yes you can. The two guards are treated separately.


Really? Damn, we played that you can't. Made those guards a lot more scary for their 2 points. Crane style just gets more powerful everyday (and it was already pretty high in my regard).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Willem Visser
South Africa
flag msg tools
adamw wrote:
Yes you can. The two guards are treated separately.


My wife and I played last night (friends in our board games club gave me Ninjato for my 30th birthday!) and the following scenario came up:

My wife called out 'Banzai' on a red treasure knowing that she would have to face an Elite guard (or maybe two Elite guards) and as fate would have it the Gijon/Samurai two-guard Elite was pulled. In her artillery she had two Dojo cards (a 3 and a 5) and the Seishin-teki Harmony card, allowing her the ability to switch from Stealth to Strength. At that point she was in Stealth mode.

As Gijon is a 3 guard and Samurai a 5 guard, it means she would have lost against both provided she faced them in order (from left to right). However, she asked whether it is allowed to first face Samurai with her 3 Dojo card, switch to Strength using the Seishin-teki Harmony card and then face Gijon with her 5 Dojo card, thereby beating both guards. Being the perfect gentleman I allowed it (although it ultimately cost me the game - I lost with 4 honour).

So Adam, my question is, in the future (especially when our friends are joining us), is it allowed to face the two-guard Elite in any order as we did or not?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A. B. West
United States
Beech Grove
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Why aren't you PLAYING a game?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may resolve the double elite guard in any order you wish.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.