Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Jonas
United States
Alaska
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everyone! I just bought the core game and Secrets of Arkham and I'm looking forward to trying it out with some friends. I'd like to get some really solid Hastur faction cards, as Hastur has always been my favorite GOO. Which asylum packs should I get after the two main expansions? Thank you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm no expert, but I'll see what I can do to help...

First, you'll probably get the best responses posting on the Call of Cthulhu forums rather than BGG: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_temas.asp?efid=...

Mono-faction decks (with a few exceptions) tend to have a harder time than mixed-faction decks. With Hastur in particular you can run into trouble if you try to be too "thematic" and base your deck heavily around making stuff go insane. Problem is - not everything CAN go insane, how will you handle an opposing deck with its own monsters w/ Terror icons? Mixing in some cards from another faction that's better at combat can help. Giving up some insanity for some other aspect of the Hastur faction (for instance - taking control of enemy characters) can also help and might be a good route to investigate if you really want to stay mono-faction.

I was messing with a mono-Hastur deck a bit a couple of months ago, and I definitely ran into trouble with opposing Terror being immune to my own (of course you can argue they had the same problem - but I'd invested more in that strategy). So what I did was put in more cards that let me take control of things, mostly those that did NOT require the subject to be insane first.