Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can Descendants of Draco enter the Galactic Center Defense hex? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luca Tolomelli
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Descendants of Draco enter the Galactic Center Defense hex without triggering its attacks (like Ancient Ships)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LukeZ wrote:
Can Descendants of Draco enter the Galactic Center Defense hex without triggering its attacks (like Ancient Ships)?

No, because it's not an ancient ship.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent J
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
He's looking real sharp in his 1940's fedora. He's got nerves of steel, an iron will, and several other metal-themed attributes. His fur is water tight and he's always up for a fight.
badge
He's a semi-aquatic egg-laying mammal of action. He's a furry little flat-foot who'll never flinch from a fray. He's got more than just mad skills, he's got a beaver tail and a bill.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mind = blown
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy P
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Had that exact same situation happen last night. We played it the same way; they can not enter the center because it's not an Ancient... it's the Grid. Otherwise, it's a bit too powerful.

Speaking of powerful, the Hegemon player player rolled the other 3 alien players; won with 57 points: 19 higher than the next player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Diachuk
msg tools
mbmbmb
If they could, they would be stupidly broken.

As is, they cannot, as stated already. The GCD is not an Ancient, so it isn't affected by the Descendant's rules for Ancients. It doesn't even give them a bonus VP at the end of the game if it's still on the board.

If you actually read the description of it in the rulebook, you'll learn that the GCD is actually a demilitarized zone where representatives of all the major species meet and make galactic policy and such. So when you go in and destroy it, you're actually attacking every other player (and even players not currently playing) except you're actually bombing civilians instead.

I'm kind of astonished that you get to keep your diplomatic treaties with other players after you destroy the GCD, but perhaps the relationship let them vacate their important dignitaries from the GCD before your attack (and they also want it destroyed, since, after all, it gives them a better chance of taking over as well - hard to control the galaxy when some stupid council keeps making all the rules).

I guess there's always balance reasons, since otherwise nobody would want to attack the GCD, and it's kind of an important tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.