Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Giants» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tribal markers and bidding fase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cuervo Preboste
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi there,

Do you need a minimum of one tribal marker to participate in the bidding fase?

Thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. You may bid zero.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom F
msg tools
From the 'notes' section of phase 2 in the rulebook:


"It's possible to show an empty hand, but no Moai may be taken.
Only bidding Tribe Markers is meaningless."


I interpret the first sentence to mean you may not take a Moai if you bid zero tribe markers. The second sentence says that you must bid at least one sculptor to take a Moai.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gláucio Reis
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thorpaline wrote:
I interpret the first sentence to mean you may not take a Moai if you bid zero tribe markers.

That is not what it says. The "empty hand" refers to committing no workers. The second sentence just points out that there is no purpose in bidding tribe markers without workers, because you need workers to take a moai.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom F
msg tools
Sorry about that, you are correct. The rules as they are written, are unclear, but the official faq here: http://www.matagot.com/lesgeants/faq_en.htm
states clearly that you may bid zero tribe markers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.