Hide
20 Posts

Dominant Species» Forums » Rules

Subject: speciation rant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bradley Nelson
msg tools
I do not understand the speciation rule. It seems to me that species derive from already existing species. In fact I know this since my degree is in evolutionary biology. It doesn't make since that you can just pop in new species on the other side of earth far away from your existing species. It takes migration pretty much out of the game. Why migrate when you can just pop in anywhere you have a matching element? The rule should be that you have to create new species inside and adjacent to a tile that you already occupy and have a matching element.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you could not speciate anywhere you liked on the board the board positions would be much more static. It could be hard to get your species from one side of the board to the other if the elements between are not conducive to your animal. What if all your cubes are removed from the board, have you gone "extinct" and are completely eliminated from the game?

Short answer: it's a game, not a simulation.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Riley
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Don't look at the game as a simulation. It will drive you batty. After all, how do animals control where glaciers go?

2) The answer, which was addressed somewhere on these forums but I can't find the link, is that there are always species of every order in every hex, but only a few "rise up" in population to be noteworthy (worthy of points and in contention for domination).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
mbmbmbmbmb
cuneve wrote: